Subject Guides: MARKETING: HOME

Key Resources

Which database?

Using the resources available you will need to make a distinction between academic articles on marketing principles and theories, trade and professional journals with examples of current marketing practice and sources of market research information. Market research publications will include the following information:

Industry trends and forecasts
Key players in a particular market
Product information
Consumer behaviour
Market sector analysis

Business Source Premier (BSP) This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of trade and academic periodicals covering all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Also includes industry and company profiles and SWOT analyses, country economic data and market research.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of reports on approx. 400 UK, 100 Irish and 350 German industries. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more. Also includes pan-European level reports for 100+ key industries and country-level research for France, Italy and Spain on these same key industries.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Online market research tool from Euromonitor, providing strategic analysis of market size and market share for products in countries around the world.
WGSN This link opens in a new window
WGSN is the leading online trend forecasting and analysis service, providing creative and business intelligence for fashion, interiors, design, and the retail industries, via its Fashion and Insight platforms.
Registration required for the downloading of content. Instructions for creating or reactivating a WGSN account. By using this site, you are agreeing to comply with WGSN's terms and conditions of use paying particular attention to the fact that this site is to be used for internal educational purposes only and that you are not permitted to post content on 3rd party websites or social media.

For guidance on using these database, watch our introductory videos on finding information on industries and consumers

Business Source Premier (BSP) This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of trade and academic periodicals covering all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Also includes industry and company profiles and SWOT analyses, country economic data and market research.
Economist This link opens in a new window
World events, politics, business, science and technology and in-depth special reports on contemporary issues. International coverage.
Emerald This link opens in a new window
Access to subscribed journals and ebooks published by Emerald. Subject coverage: business, management, marketing, retailing, economics, education, engineering and library & information science.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Web of Science (WOS) This link opens in a new window
Access to: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index (Science and Social Science & Humanities), Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and BIOSIS Citation Index Backfile (1969-2008).

For further information, please refer to the Company Information guide

Fame This link opens in a new window
Full financial information (current and historic) as well as key activities, stock data (listed companies only) and detailed global ownership information for registered companies in the UK and Ireland with either a turnover or shareholder funds in excess of £1.5m, or profits in excess of £150,000.

Data.gov.uk
International Monetary Fund
Organization of 188 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
Nomis
Official labour market statistics.
OECD
The mission of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.
Office for National Statistics (ONS)
This is the gateway to UK National Statistics.
UK Data Service
The UK Data Service collection includes major UK government-sponsored surveys, cross-national surveys, longitudinal studies, UK census data, international aggregate, business data, and qualitative data.
UN Data
You can find official statistics produced by countries and compiled by United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. The domains covered are agriculture, crime, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism. You can also find indicators such as Millennium Development Goals.

For further sources of national and international statistical data, see the Statistics subject guide

Books and ebooks

The easiest way to search for books held in the library is to use the library catalogue. You can search by author, title or keyword. You can also use the library catalogue to place reservations on books. For more information about finding and using ebooks please see our Help with using ebooks page.

MARKETING: HOME

Marketing

All of the resources you need for your subject.

For help with using resources and literature searching please contact your library subject team

OneSearch

Key Resources

Which database?

Other ways to find articles

Use the Online Journal Finder A-Z

What if I can't access an article?

Books and ebooks

Popular Links

Contact Aldrich Library

New books

Marketing Metrics

Marketing and Promotion: An Integrated Marketing Communications Perspective

Routledge companion to marketing and feminism (eBook)

Ebook also available

Ebook

The Psychology of Advertising

MARKETING: HOME

Marketing

All of the resources you need for your subject.

For help with using resources and literature searching please contact your library subject team

OneSearch

OneSearch: Quick search for books, articles and journals

Key Resources

Which database?

Other ways to find articles

Use the Online Journal Finder A-Z

What if I can't access an article?

Books and ebooks

Popular Links

Contact Aldrich Library

New books

Marketing Metrics

Marketing and Promotion: An Integrated Marketing Communications Perspective

Routledge companion to marketing and feminism (eBook)

Ebook also available

Ebook

The Psychology of Advertising