Subject Guides: PHARMACY AND PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES: Home Page

Contact Aldrich Library

Opening hours & contact details

Email Us

Key Pharmacy Resources

Databases are specialist tools which you can use to find resources such as journal articles. For help with searching these resources use the user guide links below. For general help with literature searching please see the Search Skills page in this guide.

Medical Literature Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) in the United States. Cross-searches several NLM resources (MEDLINE, PubMed Central and Bookshelf) providing references to biomedical and life sciences literature.
If you are trying to create an account on PubMed and are having problems, please look at our Accessing and using PubMed guide.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and pharmacological indexing and abstracting database, coverage from 1947 onwards.
Access to this resource will cease on 31st July 2024.
Cochrane This link opens in a new window
Independent high quality evidence for healthcare decision making.
Health & Medical Collection (HMC) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more
LWW Health Library: Occupational Therapy and Physiotherapy Collections This link opens in a new window
Interactive online access to essential health science ebooks as well as videos, images, real-life case studies and quizzes. Topics include Assessment, Biomechanics, Kinesiology, Neuroscience, Orthosis, Physiology, Physical Dysfunction, Musculoskeletal disorders, Research, Theory, Therapeutic Exercise, Wound care, etc.

Drug Information

British National Formulary (BNF) This link opens in a new window
This essential reference provides up-to-date guidance on prescribing, dispensing and administering medicines. Resource provided by Medicines Complete and includes both the BNF and Martindale. To limit your search to the BNF, select it from the menu on the right.
British Pharmacopoeia (BP) This link opens in a new window
Updated annually, the BP is the official, authoritative collection of standards for UK medicinal substances for human and veterinary use. Subscription includes the British Pharmacopoeia, the British Pharmacopoeia (Veterinary) and the British Approved Names (BAN) book. The BAN book is the official dictionary of drug names for regulatory use in the UK. [1-3 user licence]
Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides unbiased and evaluated information on drugs and medicines in use around the world. Resource provided by Medicines Complete and includes both the BNF and Martindale. To limit your search to Martindale select it from the menu on the right.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Web of Science (WOS) This link opens in a new window
Access to: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index (Science and Social Science & Humanities), Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and BIOSIS Citation Index Backfile (1969-2008).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to subscribed journals and ebooks published by Elsevier.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access to subscribed journals and ebooks published by Wiley-Blackwell.
Wiley Digital Archives: BAAS Collection (1830-1970) This link opens in a new window
Collections on the History of Science 1830s-1970s. Archival collection of previously uncatalogued British Association for the Advancement of Science materials and collections from British universities. The archive connects the works, thoughts and interactions of the most influential scientists of the time, from Darwin to Ramsay, and documents the history of British science from the 1830s through the 1970s across disciplines and universities.

Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Provides access to chemical data to support chemistry-related research including drug discovery.
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) Publishing This link opens in a new window
Access our subscribed journals published by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications This link opens in a new window
Access our subscribed journals published by the American Chemical Society.

PubChem
National Institute of Health open chemistry database. The largest public available collection of chemistry data it includes information on information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety and toxicity data.

Books and ebooks

The easiest way to search for books held in the library is to use the library catalogue. You can search by author, title or keyword. You can also use the library catalogue to place reservations on books. For more information about finding and using ebooks please see our Help with using ebooks page.

PHARMACY AND PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES: Home Page

Pharmacy Subject Guide

All the resources you need for your subject

Contact Aldrich Library

New Books

Sex matters: how male-centric medicine endangers women's health and what we can do about it

Sexuality and illness: a guidebook for health professionals

Life's edge: the search for what it means to be alive

ABC of clinical resilience

The pandemic century

Vaccines did not cause Rachel's autism

Understanding coronavirus

Essentials of clinical infectious diseases

Top 100 Drugs: Clinical Pharmacology and Practical Prescribing

Independent and Supplementary Prescribing at a Glance

ABC of Clinical Reasoning

Goodman and Gilman's The Pharmacological basis of therapeutics

Key Pharmacy Resources

Medical Literature Databases

Drug Information

Books and ebooks

PHARMACY AND PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES: Home Page

Pharmacy Subject Guide

All the resources you need for your subject

Contact Aldrich Library

New Books

OneSearch: Quick search for books, articles and journals

Key Pharmacy Resources

Medical Literature Databases

Drug Information

Books and ebooks