Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
The short video introduces you to Google Scholar. For more guidance on how to search using Google Scholar visit the LinkedIn Learning tutorial: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/google-apps-for-students
You can set Google Scholar to Find it @ Brighton when you are off campus.
Select Scholar Settings. Under Library links type in 'University of Brighton', check box in results and click Save.
Search Google Scholar
For more details on how to search Google Scholar see Link to Google Scholar Search Tips
You can set Google Scholar to Findit@Brightonwhen you are off campus.
Select Scholar Settings. Under Library links type in 'University of Brighton', check box in results and click Save,
a-n The Artists Information Company
Practical advice and material for all visual artists. Covers professional practice. The news section is very informative.
BFI (British Film Institute)
News, media, and educational material from the British Film Institute. Links to the BFI Player.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Comprehensive art bibliography covering European and American visual arts periodicals published between 1975 and 2007.
Screen Archive South East
The public sector moving image archive for the South East of England. SASE locates, collects, preserves and promotes films, videotapes and digital material made in Surrey, Kent, East and West Sussex, Brighton & Hove and Medway. Based at University of Brighton. Formerly known as South East Film and Video Archive (SEFVA).
Magnum Photos represents some of the world’s most renowned photographers. The Magnum Photos library is a living archive updated regularly with new work from across the globe.
Shared Research Repository for Cultural and Heritage Organisations
Research produced by staff of the British Library and partner organisations: the British Museum, MOLA (Museum of London Archaeology), National Museums Scotland, Royal Botanic Gardens Kew, and Tate.
The George Eastman Museum
Explore the George Eastman Museum's collections online. More than a quarter of a million objects from the photography, technology, and George Eastman Legacy collections are now searchable, and more of the museum's vast holdings will be added on an ongoing basis.