Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key Music Databases
Equinox Popular Music- collection of over 60 ebooks on popular music and jazz including titles on individual performers, groups and music genres.
Database of rock music writing sourced from the music and mainstream press, from the early 1960s onwards.
Music Industry Information
The BPI is a trade body the represents the UK’s recorded music industry. Members include more than 400 independent music companies and the UK’s major record companies – Universal Music UK, Sony Music UK, and Warner Music UK.
International Federation of the Phonographic Industry: Reports & Resources
A range of resources and reports providing data and analysis on the current state of the global recording industry.
The Purple Guide
Comprehensive health, safety and welfare guidance for music and other events, particularly large-scale music festivals and similar events.
UK Music is the umbrella organisation which represents the collective interests of the UK’s world-leading music industry.
Key Music Journals
Analytical Approaches to World Music
Analytical Approaches to World Music is an open-access journal that engages with analytical, theoretical, and cultural aspects of the panoply of world musical traditions.
The international newsweekly of music, video and home entertainment; profiles, commentary, album ratings, feature articles, marketing and reviews.
Black Music Research Journal
Black Music Research Journal includes articles about the philosophy, aesthetics, history, and criticism of black music.
Publication of this title ceased in 2016.
The Black Perspective in Music
The Black Perspective in Music features research on the Black-American and African performing arts, particularly from the creative point of view, including articles by musicologists, ethnomusicologists, historians, composers, and performing artists; interviews with well-known personalities in the arts; listings of new books, music, musicals, films, and recordings; announcements of special events (festivals, conferences, premiere performances, symposia), and periodic surveys of bibliographic materials. Publication of this title ceased in 1990.
Dancecult: Journal of Electronic Dance Music Culture
Dancecult is a peer-reviewed, open-access e-journal for the study of electronic dance music culture (EDMC).
IASPM Journal is the peer-reviewed open-access e-journal of the International Association for the Study of Popular Music (IASPM).
International Journal of Music Business Research
The journal adopts a scientific approach at the intersection of economic, artistic, especially musical, cultural, social, legal, technological developments that aims at a better understanding of the creation/production, dissemination/distribution and reception/consumption of the cultural good music.
International Journal of Music Business Research - Archive
Archive of issues from Volume 1, no 1, April 2012 to Volume 10, no 1, April 2021.
Journal of Fandom Studies
The journal contains current scholarship into the fields of fan and audience studies across a variety of media. It focuses on the critical exploration, within a wide range of disciplines and fan cultures, of issues surrounding production and consumption of popular media (including film, music, television, sports and gaming).
Journal of Popular Music Education
This peer-reviewed journal aims to include all forms of scholarship relevant to popular music education and iteratively to shape the parameters of this emerging field.
Journal of Popular Music Studies
Journal of Popular Music Studies is the peer-reviewed, quarterly publication of the U.S. Branch of the International Association for the Study of Popular Music.
Music Week is the trade paper for the UK record industry.
Popular Music is an international multi-disciplinary journal covering all aspects of the subject - from the formation of social group identities through popular music, to the workings of the global music industry, to how particular pieces of music are put together. The journal includes all kinds of popular music, whether rap or rai, jazz or rock, from any historical era and any geographical location.
Popular Music History
Popular Music History publishes original historical and historiographical research that draws on the wide range of disciplines and intellectual trajectories that have contributed to the establishment of popular music studies as a recognized academic enterprise.
The journal includes articles that challenge established orthodoxies in popular music studies, examine the formation and dissolution of canons, interrogate histories of genres, focus on forms of popular music that have existed below the "historical radar," and engage in archaeologies of popular music history.
Popular Music and Society
Popular Music and Society , founded in 1971, publishes articles, book reviews, and audio reviews on popular music of any genre, time period, or geographic location.
Popular Music Research Today
Popular Music Research Today features a diverse range of articles which cover: anthropology of music; methodologies for the study of popular music; tradition and orality; conservation and dissemination of musical heritage; urban music and identities; audiovisual media and popular music; pedagogy of popular music; and innovative approaches to popular music.
Perfect Beat focuses on the popular music of the 'Pacific rim' and includes historical and contemporary studies, popular music studies, musicology, cultural studies and ethnomusicological perspectives,
the development of new styles of popular music by indigenous peoples and their relationships (beneficial and/or problematic) with the technologies and institutions of the 20th Century media and music industries.
Rock Music Studies
Rock Music Studies publishes articles, reviews and opinion pieces on rock music and its subgenres such as blues rock, country rock, hard rock, metal and punk.