Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
The short video introduces you to Google Scholar. For more guidance on how to search using Google Scholar visit the LinkedIn Learning tutorial: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/google-apps-for-students
Search Google Scholar
For more details on how to search Google Scholar see Link to Google Scholar Search Tips
You can set Google Scholar to Findit@Brightonwhen you are off campus.
Select Scholar Settings. Under Library links type in 'University of Brighton', check box in results and click Save,
British Fashion Council
Based in London, the British Fashion Council is a not-for-profit organisation that aims to further the interests of the British fashion industry and its designer businesses by harnessing and sharing collective knowledge, experience and resources of the sector.
Business Of Fashion
The Business of Fashion is rapidly becoming the go to database for anyone in the fashion industry. It offers great fashion journalism as well as practical business advice, online learning, career-building tools and immersive events and experiences. Their jobs section is very current and you can sign up for a regular job alerts email. Students [only] are now able to access the database for free but registration is required.
Ethical Fashion Forum
Common Objective (CO) / Ethical Fashion Forum is an intelligent business network for the fashion industry. Our technology matches members with the connections and resources they need to succeed and makes it easier for them to work in the most sustainable way. Founding members include Vivienne Westwood and Harold Tillman.
firstVIEW was launched in 1995 and was really the first catwalk fashion database which was pioneering at the time. No new content is being added to the database, however it has great images of catwalk,streetstyle going way back to the 1990s and soon it will have its wonderful firstVIEW tv channel.
Metropolitan Museum of Art Costume Institute
The Costume Institute's collection of more than thirty-five thousand costumes and accessories represents five continents and seven centuries of fashionable dress, regional costumes, and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present.
Museum at FIT
The Museum at FIT includes more than 50,000 garments and accessories, from the 18th century to the present, with particular strength in modern and contemporary women's fashion. Represented are the major figures in fashion history: Alaïa, Balenciaga, Chanel, Dior, Halston, Charles James, Norman Norell, Paul Poiret, YSL, Westwood and avant garde designers like Rei Kawakubo of Comme des Garons and Rick Owens. Accessories are also represented: Blahnik, Ferragamo, Perugia & Roger Vivier. You can search their digitised archive of collections and watch their free online lectures too. One of the best fashion museums in the world.
UK Fashion & Textile Association (UKFTA)
The UK Fashion & Textile Association is the most inclusive British network for fashion and textile companies. UKFT brings together designers, manufacturers, agents and retailers to promote their businesses and our industry throughout the UK and internationally.
V&A Textiles Collection
Online hub for the Textiles Collection at the V&A, spanning a period of more than 5000 years, from Predynastic Egypt to the present day.
Vogue Italia Archive
Italian Vogue have made their archive free to use (with certain conditions).Register for free and you get full access to Vogue Portfolio, 3 issues of your choice from the historical archive & 5 archive searches per week
We Wear Culture
Google Arts & Culture searchable archive of 3,000 years of world fashion in collaboration with more than 180 museums, fashion institutions, schools, archives and other organisations. Includes over 450 exhibits on different topics.