Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can find ebooks in the library catalogue or OneSearch.
Most ebooks can be downloaded to a computer or mobile device but only for a limited period (for example one day). You can re-download the book as many times as you like.
You can but due to copyright restrictions you are only able to print or copy and paste a limited amount of pages from the book. Most ebooks allow printing or copying of between 5-10%. According to copyright laws, anyone with a form of disability which prevents access to the content of any book/ebook may create an accessible version of if for their personal use. If you require assistance with this please contact the Disability and Dyslexia team or your local library.
This depends. Many of our ebooks have multi-user licences which means that more than one person can view the book at a time. Others have single user licenses which restricts viewing to one person.
The library ebooks are in PDF format which does not allow for these type of adjustments. Kindle books are in a special ePUB type of ebook file format.
There may be a number of reasons why the ebook isn't working. Some books can only be viewed by one user at a time in which case trying again later would be advisable. It is best to report the problem to your home library and we can investigate.
Ebook User Guides
Detailed online user guide and playlist
FAQs for VLE ebooks
Links to ebook collections
Open Access Books
Open Textbook Library
A collection of Open textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality.
Covers all subjects - would recommend using the Browse subject bar on the side to locate relevant books.
Directory of open access books
Academic and peer reviewed books in Open Access. Includes open access books by publishers such as SpringerNature and several large universities.
Fully searchable - there is also a directory that lets you look at books within a subject area.
OpenStax provides free, peer-reviewed, openly licensed textbooks.
Subjects coverage mianly STEM subjects with some business books as well.
Open Book Publishers
Publishes free online editions of every title in their catalogue in PDF, HTML and XML formats that can be read on the website or downloaded. Covers all subjects - but particularly humanities.
UCL Press Open Access
Open Access books from UCL. Covers a really wide range of subjects - use the books tab at the top of the page to browse by subject.
B.C. Open Textbook Collection
An open textbook collection covering a wide range of subjects. Peer reviewed - and fully searchable as well as browsable by topic.