Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Key Resources
These resources allow you to search across subject specific collections. Use them to do the following;
- Do a systematic search
- To be able to create an account to save your searches
- Record your search history
- Narrow your results to different types of evidence key to your subject, e.g systematic reviews or quantitative or qualitative studies.
Remember - these resources are only a few of the ones we subscribe to. They've been selected as the ones most relevant to yur subject but if you want to see everything you can access please use the A-Z Resources Guide
Key Pharmacy Resources
Medical Literature Databases
Indexes US MEDLINE and biomedical journal articles, from 1948.
Biomedical and pharmacological indexing and abstracting database, coverage from 1947 onwards.
Independent high quality evidence for healthcare decision making.
Health Research Premium Collection (HRPC)
Access to health, medical, nursing and psychology databases.
Allied and Complementary Medicine (AMED)
Complementary therapies index, includes physiotherapy, podiatry and speech therapy, coverage from 1981.
LWW Health Library: Occupational Therapy and Physiotherapy Collections
Interactive online access to essential health science ebooks as well as videos, images, real-life case studies and quizzes. Topics include Assessment, Biomechanics, Kinesiology, Neuroscience, Orthosis, Physiology, Physical Dysfunction, Musculoskeletal disorders, Research, Theory, Therapeutic Exercise, Wound care, etc.
British National Formulary (BNF)
This essential reference provides up-to-date guidance on prescribing, dispensing and administering medicines. Resource provided by Medicines Complete and includes both the BNF and Martindale. To limit your search to the BNF, select it from the menu on the right.
British Pharmacopoeia (BP)
Updated annually, the BP is the official, authoritative collection of standards for UK medicinal substances for human and veterinary use. All monographs and requirements of the European Pharmacopoeia are also included. Help on navigating the BP is available here - How to use the BP
[1-3 user licence]
Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference
Provides unbiased and evaluated information on drugs and medicines in use around the world. Resource provided by Medicines Complete and includes both the BNF and Martindale. To limit your search to Martindale select it from the menu on the right.
Multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Web of Science (WOS)
Access to: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index (Science and Social Science & Humanities), Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and BIOSIS Citation Index Backfile.
Access to subscribed journals and ebooks published by Elsevier.
Wiley Online Library
Access to subscribed journals and ebooks published by Wiley-Blackwell.
National Institute of Health open chemistry database. The largest public available collection of chemistry data it includes information on information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety and toxicity data.
Clinical Guidelines if you can't access NICE
These links may be useful if you can't access NICE clinical guidelines because you aren't in the UK. These sites provide links to alternative clinical guidance from other countries or organisations.
Guidelines provides concise clinical guideline summaries of major primary and shared care guidelines for the UK. Additionally, European guidelines from some of the major independent professional bodies are also summarised and included.
International Guidelines LIbrary
International Guidelines Library & Registry
The open access GIN library contains links to around 3000 guidelines, published or endorsed by GIN members, as well as health guidelines from non-member organisations.
A medical search engine with emphasis on evidence-based medicine & clinical guidelines and queries. Allows for PICO searching. You can search for guidelines by running any search and then using the limits on the right hand side to restrict results to Guidelines.
PubMed Copies of NICE guidance
PubMed contains a small selection of NICE guidance - it is worth looking to see if what you need is here
Other ways to find articles
Use the Online Journal Finder A-Z
- To search for a specific journal title
- Check the date range we hold a journal title
- To check if the library has a specific online article.
- Search for books, ebooks and journal articles in one go.
- Gather keywords for your search topic.
- Get a good understanding of the range of literature on your topic.
What if I can't access an article?
- If the library does not have an article you need you can request it via Interlibrary loan.