Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Brighton logo Accessibility Statement

BLACK HISTORY MONTH: BHM2021

Black history month logo 2020

“The university is a critical institution or it is nothing”.

Stuart Hall

Black History Month, October 1st to 31st 2021

This page is a collaboration between the University of Brighton Libraries and Students Union to celebrate Black History Month.

Throughout October we will be adding more resources to this page. We would love to hear your recommendations for books to add to our libraries or simply to appear on our virtual display.

Contact Us »

Focus On

Black History Month 2021 - Proud to be ...

Ronnie Williams from Aldrich Library explains...

"Hi!

With the official Black History Month 2021 theme being 'Proud to be', I wanted to share quotes by Black people of whom I am very proud. Alongside the description of the person or group you’ll find library resources that are associated with their work and impact so you can explore a little further.

My favourite quote is the one by KOKOROKO. Who? Swipe on..."

Black History Month Events

We're an anti-racist university, and we'll continue working with you and for you in tackling racial inequality. By standing together as one community, we can create lasting change. As part of our commitment, we've put together a series Black History Month talks, which we hope you take every opportunity to join. We each must educate ourselves about Black history and culture in order to confront racism and stand in solidarity against it.

See all our Black History Month Events

Recommended reads

Girl Woman Other

Borrow

Why I'm no longer talking to white people about race

Read Online

Black, listed: black British culture explored

Borrow

Taking Up Space

Borrow

Black and British: a forgotten history

Borrow

Black on both sides

Borrow

"I will not be erased"

Read Online

Queenie

Borrow

National Archives and Collections

National Archives logo

Black British History on Record

This resource is designed to support the discovery of documents relating to black British history within The National Archives’ collections. The term ‘black British history’ in this context refers to records relating to British citizens of African and African-Caribbean descent

Read more »

IHR logo

IHR: Black History Collections

Find out more about Black History Collections in the IHR Wohl Library. We collect historical sources and guides to finding and using sources. This page also shows examples from the collections.

Read more »

Black cultural archives logo

Black Cultural Archives

Black Cultural Archives is the only national heritage centre dedicated to collecting, preserving and celebrating the histories of African and Caribbean people in Britain.

Read more »