Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Brighton logo Accessibility Statement

LGBT+ History Month: Home

 

 

Kimberly Peirce, Jean Cocteau, Pedro Almodovar, Lilly Wachowski, FW Murnau, John Waters, Lee Daniels, Lana Wachowski, Dorothy Arzner, Desiree Akhavan, Chantal Akerman, Celine Sciamma, Cheryl Dunye, Derek Jarman, Alice Wu, Apichatpong Weerasethakul

LGBT+ History Month 2023

 

February is LGBT+ History Month – an annual month-long celebration of LGBT+ history.

The theme for LGBT+ History Month 2023 is Behind the Lens – celebrating LGBT+ peoples’ contribution to cinema and film from behind the lens. Directors, cinematographers, screen writers, producers, animators, costume designers, special effects, make up artists, lighting directors, musicians, choreographers and beyond.

This guide aims to highlight resources available to anyone wanting to find out more about LGBT+ history and about the LGBT+ community in Brighton.

Photo credits: Davey James Clarke; Rafael Pavarotti; Christa Holker; Mamadi Doumboya; Gregg DeGuire/WireImage/Getty Images; Ron Eschel/AP; Jeff Vespa/Getty Images; Gamma-Rapho/Getty; Betrand Noel/SIPA/Rex/Shutterstock; Cheryl Dunye; Janette Beckman/Getty Images; San Francisco Chronicle/Carlos Avila Gonzalez; Daniel Bergeron

 

BEHIND THE LENS: LGBTQ+ books from our collections

Library & University Resources

Student LGBTQ+ Support at UoB

Services to support LGBTQ+ students at the University of Brighton. Includes information about LGBTQ+ Student Society, support for trans and nonbinary students and for LGBTQ+ students estranged from their family, and information on how to disclose incidents of discrimination, bullying and harassment

View details »

Archives of Sexuality & Gender

Contains over three million pages of fully searchable, rare and unique primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. The archive illuminates the experiences of LGBTQ individuals and groups of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations and geographical locations (UoB login required)

View details »

LGTBQ+ Reading List

Our themed list highlights the books in the library collection dealing with LGBTQ+ issues and history; This is not an exhaustive list - but rather a selection of the resources available. This list is publicly available through the library catalogue.

View details »

LGBT+ HM Movie Playlist on BoB

A selection of movies that reflect the 2023 LGBT+HM theme of 'Behind the Lens'. Box of Broadcasts (BoB) is a media streaming service where you can record, watch, and make clips from television and radio programmes (UoB login required)

View details »

LGBTQ+ History in Brighton

Queer in Brighton Logo

Queer Heritage South/Queer In Brighton

Queer Heritage South/Queer in Brighton is a heritage learning project celebrating and promoting the rich cultural life of the LGBT community in Brighton & Hove. Includes the LGBTQ+ History Club.

Read more »

Queer the Pier logo

Queer The Pier

The Queer the Pier display celebrates the lives of LGBTIQ+ writers, artists, performers, activists – and ordinary people – who’ve made Brighton & Hove so fabulous. In these short films, you’ll hear the Community Curators explain how the show they made came together, what’s in it and the way it helps us all better understand the spirit of the city we recognise so fondly today.

Read more »

Queer the Pier logo

Into The Outside

Into the Outside is a queer youth project creating a new digital archive that shares and celebrates stories from LGBTQ+ young people in Brighton & Hove and beyond.

Read more »

 Brighton TransformedLogo

Brighton Trans*formed

Brighton Trans*formed records, in their own words, the lives and experiences of Brighton & Hove’s Transgender community. Using writing, memories, oral histories and photography, the project offers a snapshot of the rich variety of Trans lives in Brighton & Hove.

Read more »

Queer the Pier logo

Brighton Ourstory

Our aim is to collect material about our lesbian, gay and bisexual past - and present - and to make sure that our experience is preserved and made visible to the lesbian, gay and bisexual community. (via Wayback Machine)

Read more »