Subject Guides: AUDIOVISUAL MATERIAL: AUDIOVISUAL RESOURCES

Media collection

The media collection includes television programmes, radio programmes, music, feature films, sound recordings, and documentaries.

It is provided in two ways: either via our media streaming service BoB (Box of Broadcasts) or as DVDs/CDs/videos shelved in the library.

To search for television and radio programmes:

Pre-2009 use OneSearch or the library catalogue
Post-2009 use BoB (Box of Broadcasts) and the library catalogue

To search for commercial purchases of sound recordings / feature films / documentaries:

Use OneSearch or the library catalogue

NB: BoB is not searchable via OneSearch.

TRILT (The Television and Radio Index for Learning and Teaching)

For UK television and radio broadcast data, use TRILT. It contains listings for more than 475 TV and radio channels with data from 1995 onward.

Television and Radio Index for Learning and Teaching (TRILT) This link opens in a new window
Searchable, customisable index of UK TV and radio programmes, including digital channels and local variations.

BoB (Box of Broadcasts)

BoB (Box of Broadcasts) is a fully interactive service providing access to over 60 television and radio channels.

Access BoB via the Online Library webpage on Resources A-Z and your subject guide

BoB : Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
Interactive media streaming service which allows you to record, watch, and make clips from television and radio programmes. Due to licensing restrictions, this service is not available outside the UK.

Archival Material

Viewing archive films can give you a cultural, political, and historic perspective on the subject of the film and the time period in which it was made. With the growth in digitisation projects, many archive films are available online.

British Council Film Collection
The British Council Film Collection is an archive of 120 short documentary films made by the British Council during the 1940s designed to show the world how Britain lived, worked and played.
British Pathe
The entire 3500-hour British Pathe Film Archive covers news, sport, social history and entertainment from 1896 to 1970.
BFI Player
The BFI’s free archive, which includes shorts, features and films from the BFI and other national and regional archives - including 120 years of Britain on film.
Moving image gateway
Collects together websites relating to moving images and sound and their use in higher and further education. Sites are classified by academic discipline, from Agriculture to Women's Studies. Sites are evaluated and described by the BUFVC's Information Service, which also checks and updates the database. Sites with video or audio streaming are highlighted.
News on Screen
Provided by the British Universities Film and Video Council. Contains 160,000 records of British cinema newsreel production 1910 - 1979 and a large collection of digitised documents. Now linked to Pathe newsreels.
Screen Archive South East
The public sector moving image archive for the South East of England. SASE locates, collects, preserves and promotes films, videotapes and digital material made in Surrey, Kent, East and West Sussex, Brighton & Hove and Medway. Based at University of Brighton. Formerly known as South East Film and Video Archive (SEFVA).

Screen Studies This link opens in a new window
A dynamic digital platform taking you from script to screen and beyond – offering a broad range of content from Bloomsbury and Faber & Faber to support moving-image studies. It is an essential resource supporting research and learning in film history, theory, and practice.

Referencing

The referencing style used by the School of Art & Media is either MLA (Modern Language Association) or the Harvard style, depending on your course. Please check this with your academic tutors to ensure you're referencing correctly. If you want online help, just click on the Cite Them Right link below. If you would like to use an online tool to help you build an online reference list we recommend using either EndNote or ZoteroBib software.

AUDIOVISUAL MATERIAL: AUDIOVISUAL RESOURCES

Media collection

TRILT (The Television and Radio Index for Learning and Teaching)

BoB (Box of Broadcasts)

BoB: How to Videos

BoB: Curated Playlists

BoB: FAQs

Archival Material

Referencing

Referencing

Cite Them Right

Endnote