Accessibility Statement
The University of Brighton Design Archives is an internationally significant research base with a curatorial team that initiates and promotes collaborative activity through a programme of projects. Browse the archive here.
If you are interested in using archives from across the UK, the best place to start is the Archives Hub. It lets you search across descriptions of archives held at more than 250 UK institutions.
Rare Books at Jubilee Library
Jubilee Library has a rare books room. They have a rare materials membership scheme which is separate from their public library service. To sign up for a rare books membership, you will need to provide two passport sized photos, and proof of your signature and address.
The Keep is an centre for archives providing public access to the following local collections:
The Keep also houses records from the Sussex Family History Group and the East Sussex Historic Environment Record (ESHER); a database of archaeological sites, finds and historic monuments in East Sussex and Brighton & Hove.
Access to one of the most important archives for the study of Social History in the modern era. From the end of the ‘Hungry Thirties’ to the onset of the Second World War, the Blitz and the post-War world of consumerism and television, Mass Observation Online captures the daily lives, hopes and expectations of British society and beyond during the mid-20th century.
Contains over three million pages of fully searchable, rare and unique primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. The archive illuminates the experiences of LGBTQ individuals and groups of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations and geographical locations. There is also significant coverage of feminism and women’s rights campaigns.
This resource is designed to support the discovery of documents relating to Black British history within The National Archives’ collections. The term ‘Black British history’ in this context refers to records relating to British citizens of African and African-Caribbean descent
Find out more about Black History Collections in the IHR Wohl Library. We collect historical sources and guides to finding and using sources. This page also shows examples from the collections.
Black Cultural Archives is the only national heritage centre dedicated to collecting, preserving and celebrating the histories of African and Caribbean people in Britain.