Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search Google Scholar
For more details on how to search Google Scholar see Link to Google Scholar Search Tips
You can set Google Scholar to Findit@Brightonwhen you are off campus.
Select Scholar Settings. Under Library links type in 'University of Brighton', check box in results and click Save,
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
The short video introduces you to Google Scholar. For more guidance on how to search using Google Scholar visit the LinkedIn Learning tutorial: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/google-apps-for-students
These links are to websites which are freely available and maybe of use when searching for chemical information. If you require access to resources the library subscribes to (eg SciFinder, Reaxys, ACS publications) please see this page.
If you can't find what you are looking for or are unsure where best to start you can email firstname.lastname@example.org
CAS Source Index
Use to identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications. Can search by abbreviation, ISSN, CODEN and title.
ChemIDplus is a free, web search system that provides access to the structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases. ChemIDplus also has structure searching and direct links to resources at NLM, federal agencies, U.S states, and scientific sites. The database contains more than 400,000 chemical records, of which over 300,000 include chemical structures.
Provided by the Royal Society of Chemistry, ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing access to over 29 million structures from more than 440 data sources. It aggregates structures, spectra, properties, suppliers, syntheses and other associated information into a single searchable database with links back to the original sources. Compounds can be searched by structure or name.
Resources on isotopes, including how the new atomic weight intervals came to be, and how to use them. Also includes an interactive, electronic version of the IUPAC Periodic Table of the Elements and Isotopes.
The McCrone Atlas of Microscopic Particles is an online reference for analytical microscopists needing to identify an unknown, or who simply want to learn more about a particular substance.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Provides access to chemical and physical property data for chemical species. The data provided in the site is from collections maintained by the NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors.
Physcial Sciences Data-science Service
The PSDS is the successor to the National Chemsitry Database Service. It brings together tools and resources for UK researchers in physical sciences, including chemistry, crystallography, materials and related fields. See the range of resources here : https://www.psds.ac.uk/resources. You can register for access when not on campus using your uni email address.
National Institute of Health open chemistry database. The largest public available collection of chemistry data it includes information on information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety and toxicity data.
RSC Analytical Chemistry Videos
Analytical chemistry introduction videos from the RSC. Covers spectroscopy and chromatography - including NMR and MS
Toxicology Data Network. Search databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. Use the Resource guide
to help you decide which resources you need. There's also an FAQ
which has tips for getting the best out of your searching.
Dow Lab Safety Academy
Series of videos on safety in the lab, including key safety principles, evaluating hazards, and safe handling of equipment. Requires registration.
European Chemicals Agency
ECA is the body that oversees the regulation of chemicals in the EU. It has a database of chemicals which features hazard warning information and details of EU regulation. This is likely to be superceded by a UK agency after brexit.
Health and Environmental Research Online
is a database of references and scientific studies whcih have been used to develop EPA risk assessments for environmental hazards. Go to Fielded search and click expand to see more search options and get a better idea of what's available.
The International Programme on Chemical Safety's site consolidates current peer-reviewed chemical safety-related publications and database records from international bodies to provide public access to information on chemical safety. A complete list of contents is available here
Pistoia Alliance Chemical Safety Library
The Pistoia Alliance Chemical Safety Library (CSL) provides unique crowd sourced data content containing hazardous reactions that can be used to alert scientists to potential dangerous experiments. CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society, is committed to increasing safety in the lab and has provided this open access platform to serve scientists worldwide.
Free online spectral repository provided by Bio-rad. Can be searched by name, InChi code, or CAS registry number. Requires registration to view spectra.
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds SDBS
Spectral data provided by the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan. Spectra can be downloaded within limits (check FAQ)
Free access to more than 80 million patent documents worldwide.
USPTO (US Patent & Trademark Office)
Full text of all US patents issued since January 1976
Periodic Table RSC
Royals Society of Chemistry's Periodic Table. Available as an APP (android & iphone) Has lots of different versions - accessible via links at the top of the page - incuding podcasts
A dynamic periodic table - offers a lot of options for viewing and sorting data. Read the
to see what's possible and get the most out of it.
Periodic Table of the Elements & Isotopes
IUPAC table of the elements - including isotopes. Interactive - with information sheets on each elements covering isotopes & usages.
Calculators & Converters