Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to Company Information
Business research can include information on company reports, share price data, directors or shareholders, ownership structures, business statistics, credit ratings, market research and articles in trade journals and newspapers.
There are many websites, databases and other sources which can be used to research businesses based in the UK; the availability of information depends on the legal status of a business and the disclosure requirements. All limited companies in the UK are registered at Companies House and are required to file:
- Annual return - information about directors and company secretary, registered office address, shareholders and share capital
- Annual accounts- all companies must keep accounting records.
As well as our subscribed sources a company's own website can also be a useful source of information on corporate structures, services, products, contacts, vacancies and links to annual reports and newsletters.
Business & IP Centre Brighton & Hove
The Business & IP Centre (BIPC) Brighton & Hove, based Brighton's Jubilee Library, supports entrepreneurs, inventors, and small businesses. It offers 1-2-1 expert advice and access to a range of free information - business databases, market research reports, company data and information on intellectual property.
Kompass EasyBusiness and Local Data Online can be accessed remotely by registering with your library card. It is free to join the local library service.
The centre can be contacted by emailing email@example.com
Books on these subjects can be found under these numbers on the shelf.
|Business research methods
Fame This link opens in a new window
Full financial information (current and historic) as well as key activities, stock data (listed companies only) and detailed global ownership information for registered companies in the UK and Ireland with either a turnover or shareholder funds in excess of £1.5m, or profits in excess of £150,000.
FT Markets Data
Financial markets data for United States, United Kingdom, Europe & Africa and Asia.
London Stock Exchange
Information on FTSE100, FTSE 250 and FTSE 350 exchanges, including current and historical company share data and links to annual reports.
Provider of annual reports for listed companies in Australia, Canada, the UK and the US. Reports can be browsed by exchange, by industry or sector, or alphabetically.
All limited companies in the UK are registered at Companies House. Use the WebCHeck service to search for information on over 3 million companies either by company name or registration number. The results for each company include free information and a list of documents that are available to order.
Official Company Registers
Information on reporting and filing requirements for countries across the world and links to national company registers.
Articles and News
Business Source Premier (BSP) This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of trade and academic periodicals covering all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Also includes industry and company profiles and SWOT analyses, country economic data and market research.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Online market research tool from Euromonitor, providing strategic analysis of market size and market share for products in countries around the world.
European Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of full text articles from national, regional and european newspapers.