Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
OneSearch: Quick search for books, articles and journals
Databases are specialist tools which you can use to find resources such as journal articles. The selection below are the databases we recommend for all Computing and Gaming students, but the library has many more. For help with searching these resources contact your Aldrich Library subject support team using the link on this page.
ACM Digital Library (Association of Computing Machinery) This link opens in a new window
ACM Computing and Information Technology publications from 1985, plus citations from major publishers in computing.
British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to current, draft and historic British standards.
plug-in is required for viewing and printing downloaded documents. If the plug-in is not installed on your device, you can download it for free from the FileOpen Client Installers page
. If you are using a university device and are not able to download the plug-in then please contact the Service Desk
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full text documents from all IEEE journals, transactions and conference proceedings since 1988 and active IEEE standards.
IET Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Published by the IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology), this ebook collection includes books on computing, controls, robotics & sensors, energy engineering, telecommunication and materials, circuits & devices.
IET Research Hub This link opens in a new window
IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) journals collection containing over 40 open access titles with articles from 2013 onwards covering a wide range of engineering and technology fields.
Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window
Full text access to cases, legislation, Halsbury's Laws, legal journals and UK newspapers, some from 1984.
Important: we have been ugraded to a new platform. If you have data such as saved searches and alerts on the old Lexis Library platform, you will be able to migrate this data to the new platform until the end of November 2022. Instructions on how to migrate account data from Lexis Library to Lexis+ UK.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to subscribed journals and ebooks published by Elsevier.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Web of Science (WOS) This link opens in a new window
Access to: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index (Science and Social Science & Humanities), Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and BIOSIS Citation Index Backfile.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Full text database covering legislation, cases, legal journals and selected books; browse by topic for an overview with analysis and links to key related content. Coverage includes US and other international jurisdictions.
Registration required if not already registered for Practical Law.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access to subscribed journals and ebooks published by Wiley-Blackwell.
Other ways to find articles
Use the Online Journal Finder A-Z
- To search for a specific journal title
- Check the date range we hold a journal title
What if I can't access an article?
- If the library does not have an article you need you can request it via Interlibrary loan.
Books and eBooks
The easiest way to search for books held in the library is to use the library catalogue. You can search by author, title or keyword. You can also use the library catalogue to place reservations on books. For more information about finding and using ebooks please see our Help with using ebooks page.