Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search Google Scholar
For more details on how to search Google Scholar see Link to Google Scholar Search Tips
You can set Google Scholar to Findit@Brightonwhen you are off campus.
Select Scholar Settings. Under Library links type in 'University of Brighton', check box in results and click Save,
Using Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
The short video introduces you to Google Scholar. For more guidance on how to search using Google Scholar visit the LinkedIn Learning tutorial: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/google-apps-for-students
Data repositories allow researchers to deposit research outputs in a way that makes them available for other researchers to use. You can use Re3 to search for repositoires in a suject area, while Google dataset search lets you search across repositories and the web for datasets.
Re3data - Registry of Resarch Data Repositories
Re3data indexes and provides extensive information about more than 2450 research data repositories. Universities and research centres register their institutional, disciplinary and interdisciplinary research data repositories in re3data to enable researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions to select appropriate repositories for storage and search of research data.
Google Dataset Search
Dataset Search lets you find datasets wherever they’re hosted, whether it’s a publisher's site, a digital library, or an author's personal web page. Note - some data may require payment to download
There are a large number of repositories - ranging from multi-disciplinary ones (like those linked to below) to more targeted subject specific respoitories. In addition there are governmental and organisational respoitories that collect data produced by those bodies.
figshare is a research outputs repository. Users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable and discoverable manner. It covers all subject areas and resarch can be upload in a wide range of formats
Mendeley Data is an open research data repository, where researchers can upload and share their research data.
The Dryad Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes research data discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of data types. Dryad originated from an initiative among a group of leading journals and scientific societies.
The MAGIC website provides authoritative geographic information about the natural environment from across government. The information covers rural, urban, coastal and marine environments across Great Britain. Datasets can be downloaded - or used as overlays for MAGIC's mapping app
Old Maps Online
Access to historic maps from a wide range of sources. Allows users to search collections by location and then use a timeline function to narrow by date.
Access to information about listed buildings, scheduled monuments, registered parks and gardens and protected wrecks. Also accces to Historic England research outputs, including Heritage Counts
Uk Climate Risk
Data and reports from the Comittee on climate Change. Covers a wide range of climate change impacts on the UK including water scarcity, flood risk and the natural environment.
UK Data Service
The UK Data Service collection includes major UK government-sponsored surveys, cross-national surveys, longitudinal studies, UK census data, international aggregate, business data, and qualitative data.
World bank data
At the World Bank, the Development Data Group coordinates statistical and data work and maintains a number of macro, financial and sector databases. Working closely with the Bank’s regions and Global Practices, the group is guided by professional standards in the collection, compilation and dissemination of data to ensure that all data users can have confidence in the quality and integrity of the data produced.
EU Open Data Portal
The European Union Open Data Portal (EU ODP) provides access to an expanding range of data from the European Union (EU) institutions and other EU bodies. You can use and reuse these data for commercial or non-commercial purposes.
By providing easy access to data — free of charge — we aim to help you put them to innovative use and unlock their economic potential. The portal is also designed to make the EU institutions and other bodies more open and accountable.
You can find official statistics produced by countries and compiled by United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. The domains covered are agriculture, crime, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism. You can also find indicators such as Millennium Development Goals.
UN Sustainable Development Goals
Information, reports and research relating to the UN sustainable development goals.