Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

IMAGES: USING IMAGES

Using Images Online

Rag doll with a magnifying glass Free PhotoMany of you will want to find and use images in your personal and academic work. Use this guide to find appropriate images for your essays, dissertations or blogs and understand how you can use these images legally and safely online.

Terms and Conditions: simplified

When using the databases/websites that the University subscribes to, you should always ensure that you are aware of and abide by the Terms and Conditions of use (T&Cs). Some companies assume that by accessing any part of their website you have accepted their T&Cs in full. Website T&Cs outline how authorised users are permitted to use the content. These permitted uses may vary between websites. T&Cs also summarise the prohibited uses. Prohibited uses outline what you cannot do with the content.

Authorised users are usually any individuals who are officially affiliated with the university (current students (including distance learners), staff, and researchers).

The information here intends to summarise and simplify the T&Cs for three of the key image databases that the University subscribes to.

Bridgeman Education and Artstor are image databases that provide access to millions of images from gallery, museum, library and photo archive collections from around the world. Images in these databases have been rights-cleared for use in education.

As a University of Brighton student, you are permitted to use this content, provided that you agree to the terms and conditions (T&Cs) of use.

Permitted uses

Do use materials for - 

  • Teaching, instruction and related activities

  • Assignments and research

  • Portfolios that will be internally viewed/assessed

  • As part of a public display or performance, if it is part of a noncommercial, scholarly or educational presentation, seminar, class, lecture, conference, exhibit or workshop

  • Theses and dissertations, as long as reproductions are for personal use, library deposit or for internal use within your school.

  • Print and download content, but only the amount reasonably necessary for your intended purpose.

These uses are permitted, based on the understanding that materials will be used for educational purposes only and that you reference the materials appropriately.

Prohibited uses

Don’t - 

  • Publicly share content online on 3rd party websites or social media

  • Use the material for commercial use or for any purpose other than educational purposes

  • Sell the content

  • Remove, obscure or alter copyright notices

  • Alter or adapt the material

  • Share passwords to give unauthorised users access to content

  • Disable any software protections or encryption features.

For full terms and conditions, visit Bridgeman Education and Artstor.

WGSN is a fashion forecasting service, which provides analysis of current and future trends in the industry. As a University of Brighton student, you are permitted to use WGSN content, provided that you agree to the uses set out in their Terms and Conditions of use.  

Permitted uses

Do –

  • Use extracts for assignments (hard copy and electronic) provided they will only be shared and assessed internally (make blogs private or set them to ‘internal only’)
  • Attribute the content to WGSN
  • Download (only the amount you need) and print (one copy)
  • Share content (via email) with other authorised users for the purposes of collaboration (group work)

Prohibited uses

Don’t –

  • Share content on 3rd party websites or social media
  • Share content with anyone who is not an authorised user
  • Sell the content
  • Use content for any purpose other than for university assignments and research
  • Use content in connection with any commercial work that you carry out for any third parties

If WGSN believes there has been a breach to the T&Cs, they reserve the right to suspend a user’s account. For significant breaches, access could be withdrawn for the entire institution, and other penalties may apply. Please make sure you have read and understood the permitted and non-permitted uses before using this website. The full terms and conditions can be found here.

Books on Copyright

Online Images- Check the Facts

Do use images that are copyright cleared for use in education (see Artstor, Bridgeman) for internal educational purposes

Do reuse works that have been uploaded with a Creative Commons (CC) license. Always check the terms of use before using the images. Attribution is a basic level requirement of most CC licenses

Do familiarise yourself with a site's terms and conditions of use before re-using images

Do use still images from TV programmes/films if you are reviewing them. Follow British Universities Film and Video Council (BUFVC) audio-visual citation guidelines

Do reference images correctly, using the guidelines set out by your school

Do protect your own work by adding a [copyright symbol] followed by your name and year of creation, or use a watermark. Or, think about applying a CC licence to your work

Do use works that are in the public domain (work that’s copyright has expired, or has been waived or forfeited by the author/artist)

Do use Google advanced image search and select ‘usage rights’ to filter by license

Do select an image sized to your use, smaller file sizes (800x600 pixels at about 150Kb) are usually better for the web and assignments

Don't post images that are copyright cleared for use in education on third party websites or on social media sites

Don't assume that if you just credit the author there is no copyright infringement

Don't use works that have ‘all rights reserved’ without permission from the creator

Search for Images in UoB Databases

Image Search

Use the search box below to find images you can legally use in your work. Each image you find should be reusable but you must check the license to make sure. Most images will require an attribution, which means you need to acknowledge the original creator of the work, like you would cite an author of a book in an essay.

Enter your search query:

use for commercial purposes;
modify, adapt, or build upon.


Search using:
 

 

 

CC BY 4.0 Add a Creative Commons search widget to a site by Clint Lalonde is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Using Social Media

 

facebook free iconyoutube free iconflikr free iconpinterest free iconsnapchat free icon

 

Do reuse images that are copyright cleared for use in education on Studentfolio and EduBlogs if they will only be shared internally

Do be aware of your own rights. If someone uploads a copy of your work to a website/social media site without your permission, you can ask them to take it down

Don’t upload your own images to social media websites without reading and understanding the terms and conditions first. Many social media sites state in their terms and conditions that – whilst you retain copyright of your images – they can reuse your images however they like, without paying you (even if they make a profit from your work) or even asking for your permission

Don’t post images that are copyright cleared for use in education on public blogs that are accessible to anyone on the internet (even if you have created the blog for an assignment)