Accessibility Statement
Books on these subjects can be found under these numbers on the shelf.
| Broadcasting industry | 384 |
| Broadcasting technology | 621 |
| Communication studies | 302.2 |
| Cultural studies | 306 |
| Film | 791.43 |
| Filmmakers & directors | 791.4313 |
| Journalism | 070.4 |
| Media studies | 302.23 |
| Music | 780-781.69 |
|
Photography/ Film & video making |
770--779.99 |
| Radio production | 791.44 |
| Sound | 789.9 |
| Television | 302.2345 |
| Television programmes | 791.457 |
| Visual culture | 306.47 |
Databases are specialist tools which you can use to find resources such as journal articles. The selection below are the databases we recommend for all Media students, but the library has many more. For help with searching these resources contact your Aldrich Library subject support team using the link on this page.
Combines visual inspiration with practical advice on everything from idea generation and research techniques to portfolio development in a diverse range of fields including: design and illustration, fashion and textiles, architecture and interiors, film and media, marketing and advertising, and photography.
Interactive media streaming service which allows you to record, watch, and make clips from television and radio programmes. Due to licensing restrictions, this service is not available outside the UK.
Research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive Collection 3: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 2) is an archival collection of 12 titles with approximately 1 million pages of material from key publications like The Hollywood Reporter (1930-2015), American Cinematographer (1920-2015) and Kine Weekly (1907-1971).
Equinox Popular Music- collection of over 60 ebooks on popular music and jazz including titles on individual performers, groups and music genres.
Research index focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, topics range from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
Access to the following: Archive Journal Collections - Arts and Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences and Public Health. Thematic Collections - Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Sustainability. Primary Source Collections - 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, Global Plants. Artstor image collections are also now on JSTOR in preparation for the retirement of the Artstor platform in August 2024.
A dynamic digital platform taking you from script to screen and beyond – offering a broad range of content from Bloomsbury and Faber & Faber to support moving-image studies. It is an essential resource supporting research and learning in film history, theory, and practice.
Equinox Popular Music- collection of over 60 ebooks on popular music and jazz including titles on individual performers, groups and music genres.
Contains over three million pages of fully searchable, rare and unique primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. The archive illuminates the experiences of LGBTQ individuals and groups of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations and geographical locations. There is also significant coverage of feminism and women’s rights campaigns.
Access to subscribed journals published by Sage.
Multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Access to: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index (Science and Social Science & Humanities), Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and BIOSIS Citation Index Backfile (1969-2008).
Access to subscribed journals and ebooks published by Wiley-Blackwell.
For help and advice on using these sources of market research data, see the collection of How to research videos.
WGSN is the leading online trend forecasting and analysis service, providing creative and business intelligence for fashion, interiors, design, and the retail industries, via its Fashion and Insight platforms.
Registration required for the downloading of content. Instructions for creating, using and reactivating a WGSN account. By using this site, you are agreeing to comply with WGSN's terms and conditions of use paying particular attention to the fact that this site is to be used for internal educational purposes only and that you are not permitted to post content on 3rd party websites or social media.
World events, politics, business, science and technology and in-depth special reports on contemporary issues. International coverage.
Newspapers can give you a snapshot of events and opinions at a given time.
Historical collections of newspapers can be particularly useful for finding contemporary responses to historical events or contemporary reviews of publications.
If you're looking for current or recent news, the best place to start is European Newsstream. You can also access UK newspapers from the news section of Lexis Library, with coverage going back approximately 20 years.
Searchable collection of full text articles from national, regional and european newspapers.
Full text access to cases, Halsbury's Laws, legal journals and UK newspapers, some from 1984.
The easiest way to search for books held in the library is to use the library catalogue. You can search by author, title or keyword. You can also use the library catalogue to place reservations on books.
For more information about finding and using ebooks please see our Help with using ebooks page.
A subscription resource that covers the basics of referencing and a wide range of referencing styles.
