Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Brighton logo Accessibility Statement

NURSING & MIDWIFERY: Home

Nursing & Midwifery

All of the resources you need for your subject. For help with literature searching and referencing please contact your Information Adviser team.

Onesearch: Quick search for books, journals and more

Advanced Search

Nursing & Midwifery Databases

Databases are specialist tools which you can use to find resources such as journal articles. The five listed below are the databases we recommend you start with but the library has many more. For help with searching these resources see the Search Skills page in this guide.

CINAHL

Research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.How to search CINAHL (video) »

APA PsycINFO

Index and summaries of peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health, from 1800s onwards. Do not limit to full text.How to search APA Psychinfo (video) »

Health Research Premium Collection

Access to health, medical, nursing and psychology databases.

Evidence Search

Evidence search includes high quality resources from over 800 organisations. Use to find 'grey literature' such as policy documents, and reports as well as NICE guidelines and knowledge summaries. How to use Evidence search (video) »

Maternity & Infant Care

Abstracting and indexing database produced by The MIDIRS (Midwives Information and Resource Service), coverage from 1971. [3 user licence]How to search MIDIRS (video) »

All Health databases

Referencing

The referencing style used by University of Brighton nursing and midwifery courses is Harvard Cite them Right. Log into the Cite them Right resource below for guidance on referencing and bibliographies. If you would like to use an online tool to help you build an online reference list we recommend using either EndNote or ZoteroBib software.

Our video on understanding referencing and plagiarism provides a good overview of referencing in the Harvard Cite Them Right style.

Referencing & Plagiarism (video)

Books & Ebooks

The easiest way to search for books held in the library is to use the library catalogue. You can search by author, title or keyword. You can also use the library catalogue to place reservations on books.


The library also has thousands of nursing and midwifery ebooks which are available on and off campus. Most of these are included in the library catalogue and can also be found in OneSearch. For more information about finding and using ebooks please see our Help with using ebooks page.

Help with using ebooks