Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
OneSearch: Quick search for books and journals
Databases are specialist tools which you can use to find resources such as journal articles. The ones listed below are the databases we recommend for all geography and geology students, but the library has many more. For help with searching these resources use the user guide links below. For general help with literature searching please see the Search Skills page in this guide.
Key Human Geography Resources
Research index focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, topics range from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
Access to the following Journal Archive and Thematic Collections: Arts and Sciences I, II, III, V, VII, XI and Ireland and access to the following Primary Source Collection: 19th Century British Pamphlets. Additional access to Journal Archive and Thematic Collections (Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Ecology & Botany II, Hebrew Journals, Jewish Studies, Life Sciences, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Sustainability), Primary Source Collections (World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, Global Plants) is provided until 30th June 2022. COVID-19.
Multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Web of Science (WOS)
Access to: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index (Science and Social Science & Humanities), Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and BIOSIS Citation Index Backfile.
View, print and annotate maps online or download data to GIS/CAD software - content includes GB Ordnance Survey, Environment, Geology, Historic, Marine and Society collections of maps and data.
The MAGIC website provides authoritative geographic information about the natural environment from across government. The information covers rural, urban, coastal and marine environments across Great Britain. Datasets can be downloaded - or used as overlays for MAGIC's mapping app
Full text collection of law and law related journals; also includes the English Reports 1220-1867, World Constitutions Illustrated, and US law reports and treaties. Content is a combination of current and historic sources.
Full text access to cases, legislation, Halsbury's Laws, legal journals and UK newspapers, some from 1984.
Full text database covering legislation, cases, legal journals and selected books; browse by topic for an overview with analysis and links to key related content. Coverage includes US and other international jurisdictions.
Registration required if not already registered for Practical Law.
Other ways to find articles
Use the Online Journal Finder A-Z
- To search for a specific journal title
- Check the date range we hold a journal title
What if I can't access an article?
- If the library does not have an article you need you can request it via Interlibrary loan.
Books and ebooks
The easiest way to search for books held in the library is to use the library catalogue. You can search by author, title or keyword. You can also use the library catalogue to place reservations on books. For more information about finding and using ebooks please see our Help with using ebooks page.
Referencing resources from Library Services
A subscription resource that covers the basics of referencing and a wide range of referencing styles.
Help and support for the Endnote reference manager software.