Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Brighton logo Accessibility Statement

ART AND DESIGN: HOME

Art & Design

 

Onesearch: Quick search for books and journals

Advanced Search

Databases

Databases allow you to search for art & design resources: academic articles, images & sources of inspiration.

Art Full Text (AFT)

 
Comprehensive resource for art information, with full-text coverage dating back to 1977.

Bloomsbury Applied

Visual Arts

Combines visual inspiration with practical advice on everything from idea generation and research techniques to portfolio development in film and media, marketing and advertising and photography.

JSTOR

Access to the following Journal Archive and Thematic Collections: Arts and Sciences I, II, III, V, VII, XI, and Arts & Sciences I-XV.How to search JSTOR (webpage) »

DAAI

 
Design & Applied Arts Index is the most comprehensive database for information about design and crafts. Please note it is not full text but useful to see what has been published about a particular topic.

All Art and Design Databases

Books and ebooks

The easiest way to search for books held in the library is to use the library catalogue. You can search by author, title or keyword. You can also use the library catalogue to place reservations on books.


For more information about finding and using ebooks please see our Help with using ebooks page.

Help with using ebooks

Referencing

The referencing style used by the School of Art is MLA (Modern Language Association). If you want online help, just log into Cite Them Right below. If you would like to use an online tool to help you build an online reference list we recommend using either EndNote or ZoteroBib software.

search over 2 million programmes from 75 channels

Box of Broadcasts

Watch and record freeview TV and radio. Create clips or make your own playlist using the huge archive of tv and radio shows dating back to the 1970s. Bob also includes a collection of curated playlists made by UK university lecturers on themes such as feminist film philosophy and law race and decolonisation.

Go to Box of Broadcasts (bob)

Recent additions

Periodicals

We have a range of current & historical periodicals (magazines) to support your studies in art & design. Not all of them are online so come & browse the collection on the first floor of the library.

Current periodical issues are on the ground floor.

Periodical Selection