Subject Guides: ARCHITECTURE AND DESIGN: FURTHER RESOURCES

AA Archives The AA Archives aim to document the administrative and educational history of the AA, making available to researchers a wealth of material related to the social and intellectual history of architectural education. Holdings include extensive collections of architectural drawings, paintings, posters, textual records, models and other ephemera dating from the 1850s to the work of current students and teachers.
Archives Hub Cross-search archival descriptions from archives held at more than 250 UK institutions.
The Keep Local archive containing historic documents from East Sussex Record Office, Brighton and Hove City Council, and the University of Sussex. Based at Falmer.
London Metropolitan Archives Holds a range of documents, images, maps, films and books about London. Includes detailed records of buildings, engineering projects and architecture.
The National Archives UK national archive, containing over 11 million historical government and public records. From Domesday Book to modern government papers and digital files, the collection includes paper and parchment, digital records and websites, photographs, posters, maps, drawings and paintings.
Paul Mellon Centre Collected Archives The Collected Archives concern research into British art and architecture from the sixteenth to the twentieth century, with the strongest holdings relating to the seventeenth and eighteenth century. The collections often reflect a lifetime’s work and include material compiled in relation to exhibitions and publications, as well as documenting everyday working practices. They include primarily research notes, diaries, correspondence and photographs, many of which are annotated.
University of Brighton Design Archives Focus on 20th century design. The archive is housed at Grand Parade, and is open for research two days a week. Contact designarchives@brighton.ac.uk for more information or to make an appointment.

A is for Architecture (podcast) A podcast about architecture, buildings, urban culture and space with Ambrose Gillick, discussing ideas, artefacts and people with scholars, designers, artists, teachers and architects.
Architect Podcast Network The podcast of ARCHITECT, the journal of the American Institute of Architects
Architectural Association (AA) Lectures Choose 'Video events'. An independent school of architecture and a professional association. The AA is a publisher and organises high-profile public events.
Architecture Foundation videos The Architecture Foundation makes films to explore the global discourse about the architect’s changing role and responsibilities.

BoB : Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window Interactive media streaming service which allows you to record, watch, and make clips from television and radio programmes. Due to licensing restrictions, this service is not available outside the UK.

The World Around Non-profit institution dedicated to the discussion and presentation of progressive global issues and ideas at the intersection of architecture, art, design, technology and ecology.

Archinect Online magazine focussing on architectural design
Architectural Association Collections Blog Notifies researchers of important new acquisitions to the AA Archives, AA Library and AA Photo Library. Also highlights historic drawings, objects, photographs and books which have recently been catalogued.
BDonline Online edition of the weekly magazine Building Design. Includes videos, blogs and reviews of the latest buildings.
Dezeen magazine Compehensive architecture and design blog
Inhabitat Devoted to the future of design, tracking innovations in technology, practices and materials that are pushing architecture and home design towards a smarter and more sustainable future.
Places Open access journal on architecture, landscape, and urbanism, founded at MIT and Berkeley in 1983. Articles combine the scope and immediacy of serious journalism with the precision and depth of scholarship.
RIBA Journal archive: Design in the making Archive of RIBA Journal & Products in Practice. Limit on how much content you can access for free in any given month.

Architects Climate Action Network Network of individuals within architecture and related professions taking action to address the twin crises of climate and ecological breakdown.
Architects' Registration Board (ARB) The UK statutory regulator of architects.
Architectural Association (AA) An independent school of architecture and a professional association. The AA is a publisher and organises high-profile public events.
Association for Women in Architecture And Design Professional society dedicated to supporting women in architecture and allied design fields
Black Females in Architecture Social enterprise and membership network founded to connect and support black women within the architecture, design and construction industry.
British Institute of Interior Design The pre-eminent professional organisation for interior designers in the UK.
Design Council Promoting design for the public good for over 60 years, the council is a government agency with a Royal Charter, funded by the Department of Business Innovation and Skills.
Design Justice Network The Design Justice Network challenges the ways that design and designers can harm those who are marginalized by systems of power.
Landscape Institute The Landscape Institute is the Royal Chartered institute for landscape architects.
Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) The Royal Institute of British Architects is a professional body for architects primarily in the United Kingdom.

Diversifying & decolonising

Dictionaries

You can also find many design and architecture dictionaries in the library - search the catalogue here

ARCHIDICT multilingual dictionary for architects & designers Illustrative multilingual dictionary. Unique and unified design of technical illustrations provides a clear understanding of the interweaving terminology and the subjects discussed. This allows the drawings to act as the principle medium in explaining building techniques using the correct associated vocabulary.
Architecture dictionary An expanding reference on the subject of architecture with words and definitions related to the built environment
Biographical Dictionary of British and Irish Architects 1800-1950 Searches can be made by the name of an architect or firm, gender, and the country in which an architect worked.
Dictionary of Irish Architects 1720 - 1940 Search by person or by works.
Dictionary of Scottish Architects (1660-1980) searchable by name or location of architect, practice, or building, as well as by client.

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

For more details on how to search Google Scholar see Link to Google Scholar Search Tips

You can set Google Scholar to Findit@Brighton when you are off campus.

Select Scholar Settings. Under Library links type in 'University of Brighton', check box in results and click Save.