Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
OneSearch: Quick search for books, articles and journals
Key Architecture and Design Resources
Architects' Journal This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive journal website, covering architecture news, building studies, information on architects. Content includes podcasts and films. To access the full content, you need to register from here (if you have already registered for Architectural Review or AJBL the registration is the same).
Architectural Review This link opens in a new window
Content includes theoretical essays, detailed building studies, films (interviews, documentaries and talks) & podcasts. "For over 120 years, the AR has provided architecture students an armoury of provocative ideas, invaluable building references and a critical understanding of the social, political and cultural worlds in which architecture sits". For access to the full content register here (theis is the same registration as for AJBL and Architects' Journal)
Bloomsbury Architecture Library This link opens in a new window
Includes two collections of ebooks on architecture, urbanism, and interior design: one comprises theoretical critical and contextual texts, the other is a practical collection focusing on studio design and professional practice. Additionally this resource provides access to the full content of Sir Banister Fletcher’s Global History of Architecture: this can be explored by place, period, subject, cultures, architects and more.
RIBA British Architectural Library Catalogue
Search the RIBA Library collection here: search for drawings as well as journals, articles, books & more. Covers a huge range of international and national architecture journals.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new window
Index of articles on all aspects of design and crafts, coverage from 1973
Art Full Text (AFT) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for art information, with full-text coverage dating back to 1977.
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Combines visual inspiration with practical advice on everything from idea generation and research techniques to portfolio development in a diverse range of fields including: design and illustration, fashion and textiles, architecture and interiors, film and media, marketing and advertising, and photography.
Arts & Humanities Database (AHD) This link opens in a new window
Full-text arts and humanities journal database, also includes ethnic and area studies, politics, economics and women's studies.
AJ Buildings Library (AJBL) This link opens in a new window
Image and reference database containing full project data and comprehensive architectural photographs and drawings for 1,900+ architectural projects. Drawings can be downloaded and printed out to their original scale. Searchable by architect, location, age, cost, building type, footprint. Most projects date from the last 20 years, but major projects back to 1900 are included.
If you have already registered for Architects' Journals, use the same login for AJBL. Otherwise, you need to register here before using AJBL.
Detail Inspiration This link opens in a new window
Image and reference database, containing downloadable project data for almost 3,500 architectural projects. Can be easily searched to find particular project types, locations, ages, etc or to find specific projects.
International Architectural Database. Details of over 13000 built and unrealised projects from architects and planners, mainly C20th.
Construction Information Service (CIS) This link opens in a new window
CIS provides fundamental industry information and legislation covering all aspects of the building, engineering, design and construction process. Subscription provides access to the core service, the building supplement, and the mechanical and electrical engineering supplement.
Digimap This link opens in a new window
View, print and annotate maps online or download data to GIS/CAD software - content includes GB Ordnance Survey, Environment, Geology, Historic, Marine and Society collections of maps and data.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Research index focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, topics range from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
Survey of London
The Survey of London, founded in the 1890s, is the nearest thing there is to an official history of London's buildings. This series provides detailed architectural and topographical studies of the capital's built environment.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to the following Journal Archive and Thematic Collections: Arts and Sciences I, II, III, V, VII, XI and Ireland and access to the following Primary Source Collection: 19th Century British Pamphlets. Additional access to Journal Archive and Thematic Collections (Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Ecology & Botany II, Hebrew Journals, Jewish Studies, Life Sciences, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Sustainability), Primary Source Collections (World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, Global Plants) is provided until 30th June 2023. COVID-19.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
New books on architecture and design
Books and ebooks
The easiest way to search for books held in the library is to use the library catalogue. You can search by author, title or keyword. You can also use the library catalogue to place reservations on books. For more information about finding and using ebooks please see our Help with using ebooks page.
Selection of print journals in Aldrich library.
Other ways to find articles
Use the Online Journal Finder A-Z
- To search for a specific journal title
- Check the date range we hold a journal title
What if I can't access an article?
- If the library does not have an article you need you can request it via Interlibrary loan.