Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Brighton logo Accessibility Statement

HISTORY OF ART AND DESIGN: HOME

History of Art & Design

 

Onesearch: Quick search for books and journals

Advanced Search

Databases

Databases allow you to search for academic information. Here are a selection of useful ones for History of Art and Design.

Art Full Text

Art Full Text is a foundational art research database providing full-text art journals and books. It covers fine, decorative and commercial art. Art Full Text includes 388 active indexed and abstracted journals, 14,000 indexed art dissertations and 229,000 indexed art reproductions.

 

Art History Research

Research service consisting of five databases: ReView - Contains the full text of a wide range of International Art and Architecture journals published between the 1860s and the 1930s Arts + Architecture Profiles - Contains biographical data on nearly 45,000 artists, architects, designers and craftspeople Design Abstracts Retrospective - Contains abstracts of articles and an index of images in design journals published between 1900-1986 Research Sources: 1: British & Irish Architecture and Decorative and Applied Arts 1850s to the 1930s - Digitised books, exhibition catalogues, pamphlets, conference papers, and journal literature published in Britain and Ireland during the late nineteenth and early twentieth century Research Sources: 2. The Poster - Extensive research data on the history of the Poster.

 

Arts and Humanities Database

This database features hundreds of journal titles covering art, design, crafts, photography, architecture and interior design.

 

Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts

International Bibliography of Art

Contains detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues on subjects including: European art since late antiquity; American art since the colonial period; global art since 1945; fine art in all media; decorative arts and antiques; museum studies and conservation, archaeology and material culture, folk art, architectural history.

All UoB HOAD databases

Books and ebooks

The easiest way to search for books held in the library is to use the library catalogue. You can search by author, title or keyword. You can also use the library catalogue to place reservations on books.

Box of Broadcasts

search over 2 million programmes from 75 channels

Box of Broadcasts

Watch and record freeview TV and radio. Create clips or make your own playlist using the huge archive of tv and radio shows dating back to the 1970s. Bob also includes a collection of curated playlists made by UK university lecturers on themes such as feminist film philosophy and law race and decolonisation.

Go to Box of Broadcasts (bob)

Referencing

The referencing style used by the School of Art is Chicago. If you want online help, just log into Cite Them Right below. If you would like to use an online tool to help you build an online reference list we recommend using either EndNote or ZoteroBib software.

Key Books

Periodicals

We have a range of current & historical periodicals (magazines) to support your studies in the history of art & design. Not all of them are online so come & browse the collection on the first floor of the library.

Current periodical issues are on the ground floor.

Periodical Picks

Artforum

Museums Journal

Art History

Design Week

**NEW** Journal