Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
OneSearch: Quick search for books, articles and journals
Databases are specialist tools which you can use to find resources such as journal articles. The selection below are the databases we recommend for all Built Environment students, but the library has many more. For help with searching these resources contact your Aldrich Library subject support team using the link on this page.
British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to current, draft and historic British standards.
plug-in is required for viewing and printing downloaded documents. If the plug-in is not installed on your device, you can download it for free from the FileOpen Client Installers page
. If you are using a university device and are not able to download the plug-in then please contact the Service Desk
Construction Information Service (CIS) This link opens in a new window
CIS provides fundamental industry information and legislation covering all aspects of the building, engineering, design and construction process. Subscription provides access to the core service, the building supplement, and the mechanical and electrical engineering supplement.
Detail Inspiration This link opens in a new window
Image and reference database, containing downloadable project data for almost 3,500 architectural projects. Can be easily searched to find particular project types, locations, ages, etc or to find specific projects.
Digimap This link opens in a new window
View, print and annotate maps online or download data to GIS/CAD software - content includes GB Ordnance Survey, Environment, Geology, Historic, Marine and Society collections of maps and data.
ICE Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
Full text ICE civil engineering technical papers, from 1836 to present.
isurv This link opens in a new window
isurv is the RICS online database of information and best practice guidance for surveyors. On-campus access.
Specify-It in Knowledge Workspace This link opens in a new window
Product and supplier information for building and civil engineering. To access - select Knowledge Workspace from Main Menu and then select Specify-It from the search options on the home screen.
Business Source Premier (BSP) This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of trade and academic periodicals covering all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Also includes industry and company profiles and SWOT analyses, country economic data and market research.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Research index focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, topics range from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to subscribed journals and ebooks published by Elsevier.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Web of Science (WOS) This link opens in a new window
Access to: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index (Science and Social Science & Humanities), Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and BIOSIS Citation Index Backfile.
Other Ways to Find Articles
Use the Online Journal Finder A-Z
- To search for a specific journal title
- Check the date range we hold a journal title
What if I can't access an article?
- If the library does not have an article you need you can request it via Interlibrary loan.
Books and eBooks
The easiest way to search for books held in the library is to use the library catalogue. You can search by author, title or keyword. You can also use the library catalogue to place reservations on books. For more information about finding and using ebooks please see our Help with using ebooks page.