Subject Guides: CIVIL ENGINEERING: HOME PAGE

Contact Aldrich Library

Opening hours & contact details

Email Us

Key Resources

Databases are specialist tools which you can use to find resources such as journal articles. The selection below are the databases we recommend for all Civil Engineering students, but the library has many more. For help with searching these resources contact your Aldrich Library subject support team using the link on this page.

Subject Resources
General Resources

ASCE Journals Library (American Society of Civil Engineers) This link opens in a new window
Full text access to all ASCE journal publications and an index to books, proceedings and standards.
British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to current, draft and historic British standards.
The FileOpen plug-in is required for viewing and printing downloaded documents. If the plug-in is not installed on your device, you can download it for free from the FileOpen Client Installers page. If you are using a university device and are not able to download the plug-in then please contact the Service Desk.
Construction Information Service (CIS) This link opens in a new window
CIS provides fundamental industry information and legislation covering all aspects of the building, engineering, design and construction process. Subscription provides access to the core service, the building supplement, and the mechanical and electrical engineering supplement.
Registration required.
Digimap This link opens in a new window
View, print and annotate maps online or download data to GIS/CAD software - content includes GB Ordnance Survey, Environment, Geology, Historic, Marine and Society collections of maps and data.
Registration required.
ICE Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
Full text ICE civil engineering technical papers, from 1836 to present.
Specify-It in Knowledge Workspace This link opens in a new window
Product and supplier information for building and civil engineering. To access - select Knowledge Workspace from Main Menu and then select Specify-It from the search options on the home screen.
Registration required.

Business Source Premier (BSP) This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of trade and academic periodicals covering all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Also includes industry and company profiles and SWOT analyses, country economic data and market research.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to subscribed journals and ebooks published by Elsevier.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Web of Science (WOS) This link opens in a new window
Access to: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index (Science and Social Science & Humanities), Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and BIOSIS Citation Index Backfile (1969-2008).

Books and eBooks

The easiest way to search for books held in the library is to use the library catalogue. You can search by author, title or keyword. You can also use the library catalogue to place reservations on books. For more information about finding and using ebooks please see our Help with using ebooks page.

CIVIL ENGINEERING: HOME PAGE

Civil Engineering

All of the resources you need for your subject.

For help with using resources and literature searching please contact your subject team

Popular Links

Contact Aldrich Library

Key Resources

Other ways to find articles

Use the Online Journal Finder A-Z

What if I can't access an article?

Books and eBooks

CIVIL ENGINEERING: HOME PAGE

Civil Engineering

All of the resources you need for your subject.

For help with using resources and literature searching please contact your subject team

OneSearch: Quick search for books, articles and journals

Popular Links

Contact Aldrich Library

Key Resources

Other ways to find articles

Use the Online Journal Finder A-Z

What if I can't access an article?

Books and eBooks