Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Brighton logo Accessibility Statement

EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION & CARE: Home

Early Childhood Education & Care

All of the resources you need for your subject. For help with literature searching and referencing please contact your Information Adviser team.

Onesearch: Quick search for books, journals and more

Advanced Search

Books & Ebooks

The easiest way to search for books held in the library is to use the library catalogue. You can search by author, title or keyword. You can also use the library catalogue to place reservations on books. Most of the ECEC books are located on Level 3 (top floor) at Falmer Library.


The library also has thousands of ECEC ebooks which are available on and off campus. Most of these are included in the library catalogue and can also be found in OneSearch. For more information about finding and using ebooks please see our Help with using ebooks page.

Help with using ebooks

Key Early Childhood Journals

The library has a number of journal titles which you can browse individually. We've highlighted some key titles from the collection but there are many more. To search for a journal by title please use the Journal A-Z link.

Early Childhood Research

Access journal online

Early Years

Access journal online

Early Years Education

Access journal online

Key Early Childhood Education Databases

Databases are specialist tools which you can use to find resources such as journal articles. The three listed below are the databases we recommend for all ECEC students, but the library has many more. For general help with literature searching please see the Search Skills page in this guide.

Child Development and Adolescent Studies

Current and historical literature related to growth and development of children up to the age of 21.

British Education Index

Information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK.

Intered

Provides lesson plan ideas, news, reports and features for teachers and education professionals working in early years, primary and secondary education.

All Early Years & Education databases

Siren Films

The UKs leading creators of educational videos for early years professionals. Siren Films provides thousands of hours of authentic, unscripted footage documenting a vast range of child behaviour. Visual examples and information about early childhood theories and practices are provided to assist early year professionals and students develop confidence in practice

Access Siren Films

Referencing

The referencing style used In Early Childhood Education & Care is Harvard Cite them Right. Log into the Cite them Right resource below for guidance on referencing and bibliographies. If you would like to use an online tool to help you build an online reference list we recommend using either EndNote or ZoteroBib software.

Our video on understanding referencing and plagiarism provides a good overview of referencing in the Harvard Cite Them Right style.

Referencing & Plagiarism (video)

On demand freeview TV & radio

search over 2 million programmes from 75 channels

Box of Broadcasts

Watch and record freeview TV and radio. Create clips or make your own playlist using the huge archive of tv and radio shows dating back to the 1970s. Bob also includes a collection of curated playlists made by UK university lecturers on themes such as feminist film philosophy and law race and decolonisation.

Go to Box of Broadcasts (bob)

Teaching Resources Collection

The Teaching Resources Collection at Falmer Library houses a wide range of resources for use during your placements.

Browse the entire teaching resources collection here.


Themed TRC lists

Examples of some of the books we have in the TRC.