Databases are specialist tools which you can use to find resources such as journal articles. The four listed below are the databases we recommend for all education students, but the library has many more. For help with searching these resources use the user guide links below. For literature searching guidance please see the Search Skills page in this guide.
The referencing style used by the School of Education is Harvard Cite them Right. Log into the Cite them Right resource below for guidance on referencing and bibliographies. If you would like to use an online tool to help you build an online reference list we recommend using either EndNote or ZoteroBib software. Our video on understanding referencing and plagiarism provides a good overview of referencing in the Harvard Cite Them Right style.
The easiest way to search for books held in the library is to use the library catalogue. You can search by author, title or keyword. You can also use the library catalogue to place reservations on books. Most of the education books are located on Level 3 (top floor) at Falmer Library.
The library also has thousands of education ebooks which are available on and off campus. Most of these are included in the library catalogue and can also be found in OneSearch. For more information about finding and using ebooks please see our Help with using ebooks page.
The Teaching Resources Collection at Falmer Library houses a wide range of resources for use during your teaching practice. Reading Sets and Big Books can be borrowed for 6 weeks to allow for extended periods spent in teaching placements.
Examples of some of the books we have in the TRC.
Watch and record freeview TV and radio. Create clips or make your own playlist using the huge archive of tv and radio shows dating back to the 1970s. Bob also includes a collection of curated playlists made by UK university lecturers on themes such as feminist film philosophy and law race and decolonisation.Go to Box of Broadcasts (bob)