Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Brighton logo Accessibility Statement

PHYSICAL EDUCATION: HOME

Physical Education

All of the resources you need for your subject.

OneSearch

Onesearch: Quick search for books, journals and more

Advanced Search

Physical Education Databases

Databases are specialist tools which you can use to find resources such as journal articles. The five listed below are the databases we recommend you start with but the library has many more. For help with searching these resources see the Search Skills page in this guide.

British Educational Index

Information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK.

Intered

 
Provides lesson plan ideas, news, reports and features for teachers and education professionals working in early years, primary and secondary education.

SPORTDiscus

A multi-disciplinary sports index to international journals, monographs, reports and conference proceedings in all aspects of sport and leisure. [8 user licence]

Teacher Reference Center (TRC)

Covers a wide range of education related topics, including; assessment, curriculum development, literacy, teacher education and more.

Web of Science

Access to: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index (Science and Social Science & Humanities), Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and BIOSIS Citation Index Backfile.

All Sport databases

Referencing

The referencing style used by the School of Sport and Health Sciences is Harvard Cite them Right. Log into the Cite them Right resource below for guidance on referencing and bibliographies. If you would like to use an online tool to collect references and use them in your writing, we recommend using EndNote Online.

Our video on understanding referencing and plagiarism provides a good overview of referencing in the Harvard Cite Them Right style.

Referencing & Plagiarism (video)

Books & Ebooks

The easiest way to search for books held in the library is to use the library catalogue. You can search by author, title or keyword. You can also use the library catalogue to place reservations on books.


The library also has thousands of nursing and midwifery ebooks which are available on and off campus. Most of these are included in the library catalogue and can also be found in OneSearch. For more information about finding and using ebooks please see our Help with using ebooks page.

Help with using ebooks