Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Brighton logo Accessibility Statement

EDUCATION: Home

Education

All of the resources you need for your subject. For help with literature searching and referencing please contact your Information Adviser team.

Onesearch: Quick search for books, journals and more

Advanced Search

Education Databases

Databases are specialist tools which you can use to find resources such as journal articles. The four listed below are the databases we recommend for all education students, but the library has many more. For help with searching these resources use the user guide links below. For general help with literature searching please see the Search Skills page in this guide.

British Education Index

Information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK.

Scopus

Multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.Scopus user guide »

ERIC

Index to education resources in the USA, with some international references, coverage from 1966 onwards.

Intered

Provides lesson plan ideas, news, reports and features for teachers and education professionals working in early years, primary and secondary education.

All Education databases

Referencing

The referencing style used by the School of Education is Harvard Cite them Right. Log into the Cite them Right resource below for guidance on referencing and bibliographies. If you would like to use an online tool to help you build an online reference list we recommend using either EndNote or ZoteroBib software.

Books & Ebooks

The easiest way to search for books held in the library is to use the library catalogue. You can search by author, title or keyword. You can also use the library catalogue to place reservations on books. Most of the education books are located on Level 3 (top floor) at Falmer Library.


The library also has thousands of education ebooks which are available on and off campus. Most of these are included in the library catalogue and can also be found in OneSearch. For more information about finding and using ebooks please see our Help with using ebooks page.

Help with using ebooks

On demand freeview TV & radio

search over 2 million programmes from 75 channels

Box of Broadcasts

Watch and record freeview TV and radio. Create clips or make your own playlist using the huge archive of tv and radio shows dating back to the 1970s. Bob also includes a collection of curated playlists made by UK university lecturers on themes such as feminist film philosophy and law race and decolonisation.

Go to Box of Broadcasts (bob)