Subject Guides: MARKETING: FURTHER RESOURCES

Key Websites

Generally, market research data is very expensive, and the companies provide limited access to such information. You are advised to use the market research databases listed on the Homepage of this guide; however the following open access sites may also prove useful.

If you can't find what you are looking for or would like further advice, please email AldrichSubjectTeam@brighton.ac.uk for help.

British Social Attitudes survey
This is an annual survey is a critical guage of public opinion and is used to tracking changes in social, political and moral attitudes.
Consumer Data Research Centre [CDRC]
Source of consumer data organised by topics including retail, transport, population, and digital.
Ipsos MORI
Major UK market research company. Webpage provides insight into UK public opinion.
YouGov
YouGov conduct surveys on brands, industries and events. Summaries of surveys are free to read.

CIA World Factbook
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 nations.
Europages
Source information on companies, their activities and products from across Europe. Includes interactive maps for exports and imports
Exporting is Great
Produced by the Department for International Trade, this site includes country profiles and export market guides for a range of industries.
Market Access Database (European Commission)
Information to companies exporting from the EU about import conditions in third country markets:
Open to Export
Information service from The Institute of Export & International Trade, dedicated to helping small UK businesses get ready to export and expand internationally. Includes step-by-step guides and webinars.
World Bank Countries and Economies
Data from the World Bank on individual countries and regions.

Advertising Standards Authority
The Advertising Standards Authority is the UK's independent regulator of advertising across all media.
The British Independent Retailers Association (bira)
This is the leading trade association for independent retailers in the UK.
British Retail Consortium
Trade association covering the whole of the retail industry
Centre for Retail Research
The Centre for Retail Research has been an independent research group in the UK since 1997.
Chartered Institute of Marketing
Internationally recognised professional marketing organisation with information on training, qualifications, companies and resources.
The National Social Marketing Centre
The NSMC advises on creating cost-effective behaviour change programmes, from getting people eating more healthily to cutting graffiti vandalism.

Further Resources

CIPD
CIPD is the professional body for human resources (HR), learning and development (L&D) & organisation development (OD). Go to Knowledge Hub for factsheets, reports & guides.
IMF Elibrary
A huge amount of downloadable publications on industry, economics, business and more from the International Monetary Fund. Search or browse by country or topic.
Institute for Employment Studies
Leading independent centre for research and evidence-based consultancy - provide insights on employment and human resource management topics to help improve policy and practice.
Institute for Fiscal Studies
The IFS is the UK’s leading independent economics research institute.The website provides access to a large amount of research, analysis & news.
UK, Dept for Business & Trade
UK Government Dept. for Business & Trade site.

UK statistics & data

Data.gov.uk
Public data to help people understand how government works and how policies are made. Datasets available from all central government departments and a number of other public sector bodies and local authorities.

Digimap
View, print and annotate maps online or download data to GIS/CAD software - content includes GB Ordnance Survey, Environment, Geology, Historic, Marine and Society collections of maps and data.
Registration required.

Nomis
Official labour market statistics.
Office for National Statistics (ONS)
This is the gateway to UK National Statistics.
UK Data Service
The UK Data Service collection includes major UK government-sponsored surveys, cross-national surveys, longitudinal studies, UK census data, international aggregate, business data, and qualitative data.

International statistics & data

Comtrade
Comprehensive global trade data platform. The United Nations Comtrade database aggregates detailed global annual and monthly trade statistics by product and trading partner. Data compiled by the UN Statistics Division covers approximately 200 countries and represents more than 99% of the world's merchandise trade.
Food and agriculture data - FAOSTAT
Data for 245+ countries & territories, from 1961 to the most recent year available. Includes production, trade, prices, employment, value chain and much more.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) data
Microeconomic and financial data: global, regional and national.
OECD data
Data for the 38 OECD countries on economy, finance, government, employment, innovation, and more.
Trade Statistics - ITC
Trade statistics from International Trade Centre. Also features tools for market access, export potential, trade obstacles, plus interactive trade map.
UN Data
You can find official statistics produced by countries and compiled by United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. The domains covered are agriculture, crime, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism. You can also find indicators such as Millennium Development Goals.

For further sources of national and international statistical data, see the Statistics subject guide

Startups
Quick reads on all aspects of starting a business, latest news & practical support.
EU Startups
News and insights on European startups, including a start-ups database. (OPen access, but some charged content).
Start your own business
The University of Brighton entrepreneurship support service.
Business & self employed guidance
UK government support and guidance pages for business & self-employed.
Sussex Business & IP Centre
The Business & IP Centre (Sussex) - based at Jubilee Library in Brighton. Supports entrepreneurs, inventors, and small businesses. Offers 1-2-1 expert advice and access to a range of free information - business databases, market research reports, company data and information on intellectual property.

Business & Human Rights Resource Centre
The only global business and human rights knowledge hub, delivering up-to-date and comprehensive news and research.
Business in the Community
UK based responsible business network. Go to Our Resources for factsheets, case studies, tools.
Ethical Consumer
UK alternative consumer organisation. It researches the social and environmental records of companies, provides reports online and news and comment on all areas of ethical retail.

GreenFILE
Research index focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, topics range from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.

UN Sustainable Development Goals
World Business Council for Sustainable Development
Go to Resources to find publications, case studies and more from this network of responsible businesses.

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

For more details on how to search Google Scholar see Link to Google Scholar Search Tips

You can set Google Scholar to Findit@Brighton when you are off campus.

Select Scholar Settings. Under Library links type in 'University of Brighton', check box in results and click Save.