Skip to Main Content
University of Brighton logo Accessibility Statement

PHOTOGRAPHY AND MOVING IMAGE: HOME

Photography and Moving Image

OneSearch: Quick search for books and journals

Advanced search Library Catalogue Online Journal Finder A-Z

Databases

These resources allow you to search across subject specific collections.

ARTBiblographies

Modern

Modern and contemporary art index, coverage from 1974 onwards.How to search ARTBiblographies Modern (webpage) »

Bloomsbury Applied

Visual Arts

Combines visual inspiration with practical advice on everything from idea generation and research techniques to portfolio development in film and media, marketing and advertising and photography.

JSTOR

Access to the following Journal Archive and Thematic Collections: Arts and Sciences I, II, III, V, VII, XI, and Arts & Sciences I-XV.How to search JSTOR (webpage) »

Screen Studies

A dynamic digital platform taking you from script to screen and beyond. An essential resource supporting research and learning in film history, theory, and practice.

EIMA: Cinema, Film and Television

The Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA) Collection 3: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 2) is an archival collection of 12 titles with approximately 1 million pages of material from key publications.

All Photography and Moving Image Databases

Books and ebooks

The library has thousands of ebooks that are available on and off campus. Most of these are included in the library catalogue and can also be found in OneSearch. For more information about finding and using ebooks please see our Help with Using ebooks page.

Help with Using ebooks

ebook Collections

Most of the Photography and Moving Image books are located on the 3rd and 4th floors of St Peters House Library. Take a look at the videos below for tips on finding and using print and electronic books.

Using the Library Catalogue

Video

Finding and Using Ebooks

Video

Referencing

The referencing style used by the School of Media is Harvard. Log into the Cite them Right resource below for guidance on referencing and bibliographies. If you would like to use an online tool to help you build an online reference list we recommend using either EndNote or ZoteroBib software.

Cite them right

cite them right logo

EndNote

ZoteroBib

zoterobib logo

Referencing Guides

On demand freeview TV & radio

search over 2 million programmes from 75 channels

Box of Broadcasts

Watch and record freeview TV and radio. Create clips or make your own playlist using the huge archive of tv and radio shows dating back to the 1970s. Bob also includes a collection of curated playlists made by UK university lecturers on themes such as feminist film philosophy and law race and decolonisation.

Go to Box of Broadcasts (bob)

New books

Print journals

There are a range of contemporary and historical print journals (magazines) at St Peters House Library. These journals are useful as a visual research tool and as primary source material.

Tip - they may not be indexed in resource discovery tools so come and browse the collection!

Photography and Moving Image Print Journals

Cover of Aperture magazine
Cover of Photoworks
Cover of British Journal of Photography