Subject Guides: PHARMACY AND PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES: HOME

Contact Aldrich Library

Opening hours & contact details

Email Us

"How to" Library skills

Finding and Using Sources Evaluating Sources Referencing

Other Subject Guides

Biomedical and Biological Sciences

Chemistry

Generative AI

On demand freeview TV & radio

search over 2 million programmes from 75 channels

Box of Broadcasts

Watch and record freeview TV and radio. Create clips or make your own playlist using the huge archive of tv and radio shows dating back to the 1970s.

Go to Box of Broadcasts (bob)

Key Pharmaceutical Science Resources

Medical Literature Databases

APA PsycInfo

Index and summaries of peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health, from 1800s onwards.
Cochrane

Independent high quality evidence for healthcare decision making.
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) Plus

Research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
Health & Medical Collection (HMC)
Comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more
LWW Health Library: Occupational Therapy and Physiotherapy Collections

Interactive online access to essential health science ebooks as well as videos, images, real-life case studies and quizzes. Topics include Assessment, Biomechanics, Kinesiology, Neuroscience, Orthosis, Physiology, Physical Dysfunction, Musculoskeletal disorders, Research, Theory, Therapeutic Exercise, Wound care, etc.
MEDLINE via EBSCO

Produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) in the United States. Provides references to biomedical and life sciences journal articles dating back to 1946.
PubMed

Produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) in the United States. Cross-searches several NLM resources (MEDLINE, PubMed Central and Bookshelf) providing references to biomedical and life sciences literature.
If you are trying to create an account on PubMed and are having problems, please look at our Accessing and using PubMed guide.

General Databases

Scopus

Multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
ScienceDirect
Access to subscribed journals and ebooks published by Elsevier.
Wiley Online Library

Access to subscribed journals and ebooks published by Wiley-Blackwell.
Wiley Digital Archives: BAAS Collection (1830-1970)

Collections on the History of Science 1830s-1970s. Archival collection of previously uncatalogued British Association for the Advancement of Science materials and collections from British universities. The archive connects the works, thoughts and interactions of the most influential scientists of the time, from Darwin to Ramsay, and documents the history of British science from the 1830s through the 1970s across disciplines and universities.

Chemistry Resources

American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications

Access our subscribed journals published by the American Chemical Society.

PubChem
National Institute of Health open chemistry database. The largest publicly available collection of chemistry data, it includes information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety and toxicity data.

Reaxys

Provides access to chemical data to support chemistry-related research including drug discovery.
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) Publishing

Access our subscribed journals published by the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Drug Information

British National Formulary (BNF)

This essential reference provides up-to-date guidance on prescribing, dispensing, and administering medicines. Resource provided via MedicinesComplete.
British Pharmacopoeia (BP)
Updated annually, the BP is the official, authoritative collection of standards for UK medicinal substances for human and veterinary use. Subscription includes the British Pharmacopoeia, the British Pharmacopoeia (Veterinary) and the British Approved Names (BAN) book. The BAN book is the official dictionary of drug names for regulatory use in the UK. [1-3 user licence]
Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference

Provides unbiased and evaluated information on drugs and medicines in use around the world. Resource provided via MedicinesComplete.

The following databases will be available from the 1st December 2025

ASHP Injectable Drug Information
Information and background on various injectable drugs.
British National Formulary for Children
Key information on the selection, prescribing, dispensing and administration of medicines used for children.
Clarke’s Analysis of Drugs and Poisons
The definitive source of analytical data for drugs and poisons, providing methods and data to detect, identify and profile drugs and poisons in a wide variety of situations, including forensic and clinical toxicologists, pathologists, hospital pharmacists, pharmaceutical analysis, clinical pharmacologists, clinical and forensic laboratories, and poison information centres.
Dale and Appelbe's Pharmacy and Medicines Law
Definitive guide of the law and professional ethics that affect the practice of pharmacy in Great Britain. It covers contemporary British law relating to human and veterinary medicines, poisons, and pharmacy professional regulation that are applicable to all branches of the pharmacy profession.
Drug Administration via Enteral Feeding Tubes
Intended to support healthcare professionals in the safe and effective prescribing and administration of drugs via enteral feeding tubes.
Drug Monitoring Checker
A comprehensive, easy to use, point-of-care tool, providing monitoring guidance on more than 150 searchable drugs used frequently across primary and secondary care to support healthcare professionals make effective decisions.
Pharmaceutical Excipients
Essential for those involved in the development, production, control, or regulation of pharmaceutical preparations, and features practical chapters on formulation considerations.
Stockley’s Drug interactions
Comprehensive and authoritative reference on drug interactions, providing concise, accurate and clinically relevant evidence-based information, covering therapeutic drugs, proprietary medicines, herbal medicines, foodstuffs, drinks, pesticides, and drugs of abuse.

Recently Added Books

Kumar and Clark's Clinical Medicine

Artificial intelligence in Pharmaceutical Sciences

Genomics-Driven Drug Discovery Through Pharmacogenomics

Community Pharmacy: Symptoms, Diagnosis and Treatment

Nanoparticles in cancer theranostics: current progress in cancer management

DiPiro's Pharmacotherapy Handbook, 12th Edition

The Science Student's Guide to Dissertations and Research Projects

Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms and Drug Delivery

The ethics of precision medicine: the problems of prevention in healthcare

Medical Product Regulatory Affairs

Marks' basic medical biochemistry: a clinical approach

Oxford handbook of medical sciences

Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, 16th Edition

Books and ebooks

The easiest way to search for books held in the library is to use the library catalogue. You can search by author, title or keyword. You can also use the library catalogue to place reservations on books. For more information about finding and using ebooks please see our Help with using ebooks page.