Key Websites

Drug Tariff
The Drug Tariff is a monthly publication covering the prescribing, dispensing and reimbursement of medicines and appliances on primary care NHS prescriptions.
Electronic Medicines Compendium
The most up to date, comprehensive, regulated information about medicines.
NICE Clinical Guidelines
Clinical guidelines are recommendations on the appropriate treatment and care of people with specific diseases and conditions within the NHS in England and Wales.
Pharmaceutical Journal Online
Includes articles published in the Pharmaceutical Journal, Hospital Pharmacist and Clinical Pharmacist. Free access for student members of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society.
BAPEN - Enteral Nutrition
The British Association for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition has guidelines for enteral nutirtion - including the administration of medications

Links to professional organisations for pharmacists in the UK. You will need to join for full access to content - but where relevant associations provide free access to guidelines or other material this has been stated. If the organisation you're looking for isn't linked here see the entry for the General Pharmaceutical Council.

Royal Pharmaceutical Society
The Royal Pharmaceutical Society is the dedicated professional body for pharmacists in England, Scotland and Wales. Membership is free to students.
British Pharmacautical Students Association
Membership is free to students. The student branch of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society.
National Pharmacy Association
UK Clinical Pharmacy Association
National Association of Women Pharmacists
British Association for Psychopharmacology
Free access to guidelines and other publications.
British Oncology Pharmacy Association
Free access to guidelines and risk assessment tools (under partner publications )
General Pharmaceutical Council
Has a full list of UK Pharmacy Organisations on it's website.

CEBM Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine
CEBM aims to develop, teach and promote evidence-based healthcare through conferences, workshops and EBM tools.
NICE Clinical Knowledge Summaries
CKS provides primary care practitioners with a readily accessible summary of the current evidence base and practical guidance on best practice in respect of over 300 common and/or significant primary care presentations.
TRIP database
A medical search engine with emphasis on evidence-based medicine & clinical guidelines and queries. Allows for PICO searching.

Pharmacy Calculations - University of Kent
University of Kent study guide to pharmacy calculations. Each guide is a powerpoint with a worked example to demonstrate the method.
How to ace Pharmacy calculations
Article from the Pharmaceutical Journal with advice on tackling calculations and pharmacy exams - includes worked examples.
Resource Pharm - Calculations
Has practice questions and useful links. Includes more general numeracy help as well. Check source when using information linked to as some sites are from outside the UK and won't represent NHS practice.
Medicines Learning Portal
Useful links and a practice quiz for testing yourself.
Pharmaceutical Calculations
Online open source textbook. US based so use with caution. Read using the downloads link.
Maths Skills for Pharmacy
Support website for the OUP Maths Skills for Pharmacy textbook. Has multiple choice and short answer questions with worked examples.

Clinical Guidelines if you can't access NICE

These links may be useful if you can't access NICE clinical guidelines because you aren't in the UK. These sites provide links to alternative clinical guidance from other countries or organisations.

Guidelines
Guidelines provides concise clinical guideline summaries of major primary and shared care guidelines for the UK. Additionally, European guidelines from some of the major independent professional bodies are also summarised and included.
International Guidelines Library
International Guidelines Library & Registry
The open access GIN library contains links to around 3000 guidelines, published or endorsed by GIN members, as well as health guidelines from non-member organisations.
TRIP database
A medical search engine with emphasis on evidence-based medicine & clinical guidelines and queries. Allows for PICO searching. You can search for guidelines by running any search and then using the limits on the right hand side to restrict results to Guidelines.
PubMed Copies of NICE guidance
PubMed contains a small selection of NICE guidance - it is worth looking to see if what you need is here

Searching for Grey Literature

Grey Literature is the name given for documents of all kinds, produced by governments, academics, businesses and other organisations that have not been traditionally published.

The following is an indicative list of the types of publications this includes

Conference Proceedings

Panels, presentations and poster sessions given at a conference. May be collected and distributed as a single document - or available as individual sessions.

White Papers

A government report giving information or proposals on an issue

Guidelines

Guidelines produced by government bodies, professional bodies, charities or other organisations.

Reports

Reports relating to a single issue or investigation. Often available from the body making the report.

Datasets

Data collected by government bodies, organisations or individuals and made available for analysis by others. May or may not be connected to an existing report or publication.

Trials

Ongoing trials - or ones which haven't been reported in a journal or other traditional literature

Patents

Patents are a form of intellectual property right granted to an inventor. They can cover drugs & chemicals as well as medical devices and methods of production.

Dissertations and Theses

Student research - often available from university libraries or institutional repositories as well as Ethos.

How to Find it

Grey Literature can often be difficult to find because it may not turn up in the standard search tools you are using.

If you know where a piece of grey literature was created, for example proceedings of a society conference, then it's a good idea to search there first. Most websites will have some search functionality, usually in the top right hand corner of the site. You can also use Google (see tab) to search a particular domain which can be useful for government documents.

There are many specialist search engines which cover grey literature in various disciplines. The following is a list of a few which are particularly useful for Pharmacy. If you are looking for Trials then see the Trials tab.

Europe PMC
Europe PMC is a repository, providing access to worldwide life sciences articles, books, patents and clinical guidelines. Europe PMC provides links to relevant records in databases such as Uniprot, European Nucleotide Archive (ENA), Protein Data Bank Europe (PDBE) and BioStudies.
Open Grey
System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe - open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature produced in Europe. Covers Science, Technology, Biomedical Science, Economics, Social Science and Humanities.
TRIP database
A medical search engine with emphasis on evidence-based medicine & clinical guidelines and queries. Allows for PICO searching.

Useful Resources

This is a handful of useful sources of grey literature for Pharmacy. There is also a reading list of sources which may be more useful if you are undertaking detailed research.

You should also consider emailing aldrichpabs@brighton.ac.uk and asking for help with your search. The subject team is happy to provide suggestions for resources, help with locating a particular source or 1-2-1 sessions on search methods & getting the most out of our resources.

Grey Literature Resource List
A list of useful resources for grey literature
NICE Clinical Guidelines
Clinical guidelines are recommendations on the appropriate treatment and care of people with specific diseases and conditions within the NHS in England and Wales.
The King's Fund
An independent health charity which aims to influence health policy in England. A good source of information on health and social care policy and management.

Google & Google Scholar

Google can be incredibly useful when searching for grey literature just because of it's huge scope. This also means you can find yourself getting back a large number of results - many of which may not be useful.

There are a few things you can do to help refine the results you'll get back.

Use Google Scholar as a starting point (or Google Patents if relevant)

It searches a range of grey literature as well as conventionally published academic work. It has advanced search settings but you can also use the following operators (as well as all the standard boolean operators) to quickly limit a search

site:	limits the search to particular site or domain
author:	limits the search to works by a specific author
"quote marks"	use to ensure that your results feature a particular phrase - really useful for titles!

You can set Google Scholar to Findit@Brighton when you are off campus. This means it will directly link to our full text subscriptions - you won't have to go and search the catalogue for them ;-)

Go to Scholar Settings. Under Library links type in 'University of Brighton', check box in results and click Save.

You should now see Findit@Brighton as a link beside your results.

PHARMACY AND PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES: Key Web Resources

Key Web Resources

These links are to websites which are freely available and maybe of use when searching for pharmaceutical information.

If you can't find what you are looking for or are unsure where best to start please email your subject team for help