Bloomsbury Applied Visual ArtsThis link opens in a new windowCombines visual inspiration with practical advice on everything from idea generation and research techniques to portfolio development in a diverse range of fields including: design and illustration, fashion and textiles, architecture and interiors, film and media, marketing and advertising, and photography.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)This link opens in a new windowJournal abstracting and indexing service for all aspects of design and crafts, coverage from 1973.
Websites
Centre for Sustainable DesignInternationally recognised centre of excellence for research and development relating to sustainability.
Design CouncilPromoting design for the public good for over 60 years, the council is an independent charity and the government’s advisor on design.
Design - Ted Talks collectionDesigners on their creative process. Includes talks from Philippe Starck, Frank Gehry, Stefan Sagmeister, Paula Scher, and Paola Antonelli.
IEEE XploreThis link opens in a new windowFull text content on electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Incudes journals, conference proceedings, and active IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) standards.
British Standards Online (BSOL)This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to current, draft and historic British standards. The FileOpen plug-in is required for viewing and printing downloaded documents. If the plug-in is not installed on your device, you can download it for free from the FileOpen Client Installers page. If you are using a university device and are not able to download the plug-in then please contact the Service Desk.
Business Source Premier (BSP)This link opens in a new windowFull text coverage of trade and academic periodicals covering all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Also includes industry and company profiles and SWOT analyses, country economic data and market research.
IBISWorldThis link opens in a new windowReports on approx. 400 UK, 100 Irish, 350 German and 450 pan-European industries. Each provides 30 - 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.
Also includes Country Factsheets (10-15 pages of critical industry data) for industries in 37 European countries.
PassportThis link opens in a new windowOnline market research tool from Euromonitor, providing strategic analysis of market size and market share for products in countries around the world.
WGSNThis link opens in a new windowWGSN is the leading online trend forecasting and analysis service, providing creative and business intelligence for fashion, interiors, design, and the retail industries, via its Fashion and Insight platforms.
Registration required for the downloading of content. Instructions for creating, using and reactivating a WGSN account. By using this site, you are agreeing to comply with WGSN's terms and conditions of use paying particular attention to the fact that this site is to be used for internal educational purposes only and that you are not permitted to post content on 3rd party websites or social media.
British Library Business and IP CentreGuides highlighting useful databases, publications and websites and information for understanding intellectual property (IP). Includes links on searching for registered designs and patents
Web of Science (WOS)This link opens in a new windowAccess to: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index (Science and Social Science & Humanities), Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and BIOSIS Citation Index Backfile (1969-2008).
ScopusThis link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
BoB : Box of BroadcastsThis link opens in a new windowAccess to full archive of UK terrestrial TV and radio programmes. (Due to licensing restrictions, not available outside UK).
Accessibility Statement
