Accessibility Statement
Databases are specialist tools which you can use to find resources such as journal articles. The three listed below are the databases we recommend for all counselling students, but the full list can also be accessed here.
For help with searching for resources, use the video and user guide links below, and the Search Skills page in this guide.
The library has a number of journal titles which you can browse individually. We've highlighted some key titles from the collection, but there are many more. To search for a journal by title, please use the Online Journal Finder.
The easiest way to search for books held in the library is to use the library catalogue. You can search by author, title or keyword. You can also use the library catalogue to place reservations on books. Most of the counselling books are located on Level 2 (second floor) at Aldrich Library.
The library also has a large collection of counselling ebooks which are available on and off campus. Most of these are included in the library catalogue and can also be found in OneSearch. For more information about finding and using ebooks please see our Help with using ebooks page.
The referencing styles used by University of Brighton Counselling courses are Harvard Cite them Right or APA. Choose one of these styles and be consistent. Log into the Cite them Right website below for guidance on referencing and bibliographies.
If you would like to use an online tool to help you build an online reference list, we recommend using either EndNote or ZoteroBib software.
Watch and record freeview TV and radio. Create clips or make your own playlist using the huge archive of tv and radio shows dating back to the 1970s. Bob also includes a collection of curated playlists made by UK university lecturers on themes such as feminist film philosophy and law race and decolonisation.
Go to Box of Broadcasts (bob)
