Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Brighton logo Accessibility Statement

HUMANITIES: HOME

Humanities

Onesearch: Quick search for books and journals

Advanced Search

Databases

These resources allow you to search across subject specific collections.

Arts and Humanities Database

Full-text arts and humanities journal database, also includes ethnic and area studies, politics, economics and women's studies" How to search (webpage) »

Archive of Gender and Sexuality

Contains over three million pages of fully searchable, rare and unique primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender.

JSTOR

Access to the following Journal Archive and Thematic Collections: Arts and Sciences I, II, III, V, VII, XI, and Arts & Sciences I-XV.How to search JSTOR (webpage) »

Drama Online

Access to the Core Collection of around 1,700 plays from Bloomsbury (including Methuen Drama, Arden Shakespeare, and Faber & Faber) plus production stills from the Victoria and Albert Museum and the American Shakespeare Center.

All Humanities Databases

Books and ebooks

The library has thousands of ebooks that are available on and off campus. Most of these are included in the library catalogue and can also be found in OneSearch. For more information about finding and using ebooks please see our Help with Using ebooks page.

Help with Using ebooks

ebook Collections

Take a look at the videos below for tips on finding and using print and electronic books.

Using the Library Catalogue

Video

Finding and Using Ebooks

Video

Referencing

Log into the Cite them Right resource below for guidance on referencing and bibliographies. If you would like to use an online tool to help you build an online reference list we recommend using either EndNote or ZoteroBib software.

Referencing Guides

On demand freeview TV & radio

search over 2 million programmes from 75 channels

Box of Broadcasts

Watch and record freeview TV and radio. Create clips or make your own playlist using the huge archive of tv and radio shows dating back to the 1970s. Bob also includes a collection of curated playlists made by UK university lecturers on themes such as feminist film philosophy and law race and decolonisation.

Go to Box of Broadcasts (bob)

Books

Journals