Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Brighton logo Accessibility Statement

ENGLISH LITERATURE: Home

English Literature

All of the resources you need for your subject. For help with literature searching and referencing please contact your Information Adviser team.

Onesearch: Quick search for books, journals and more

Advanced Search

Key English Literature ebook collections

Cambridge Companions to Literature & Classics

Thousands of essays on major authors, periods and genres designed for students.

Access collection

Drama Online

Access to around 1,700 plays from Bloomsbury including all Arden Shakespeare titles and Faber & Faber.

Access collection

Early European Books

A comprehensive digitized collection of rare books and incunabula available online, coverage 1450-1700.

Access collection

Early English Books Online

Contains virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, 1473-1700.

Access collection

Finding Print Books

The easiest way to search for books held in the library is to use the library catalogue. You can search by author, title or keyword. You can also use the library catalogue to place reservations on books. The literature section can be found on the top floor (Level 3) of Falmer Library

Literature Databases

Databases are specialist tools which you can use to find resources such as journal articles. The two listed below are the databases we recommend you start with but the library has many more.

JSTOR

Search 1000s of journals covering all humanities subjects.How to search JSTOR (video) »

Cambridge Core

Access to subscribed journals and ebooks published by Cambridge University Press.How to search Cambridge Core (video) »

All literature databases Link opens in new window

Referencing

The referencing style used in literature is Harvard or MHRA. Log into the Cite them Right resource below for guidance on referencing and bibliographies. If you would like to use an online tool to help you build an online reference list we recommend using either EndNote or ZoteroBib software.

On demand freeview TV & radio

search over 2 million programmes from 75 channels

Box of Broadcasts

Watch and record freeview TV and radio. Create clips or make your own playlist using the huge archive of tv and radio shows dating back to the 1970s. Bob also includes a collection of curated playlists made by UK university lecturers on themes such as feminist film philosophy and law race and decolonisation.

Go to Box of Broadcasts (bob)