Accessibility Statement
Thousands of essays on major authors, periods and genres designed for students.
Access collection
Access to around 1,700 plays from Bloomsbury including all Arden Shakespeare titles and Faber & Faber.
Access collection
The complete works of Shakespeare together with essays, reference material and the entire collection of Shakespeare Survey.
Access collection
Access to some of the content from Early English Books Online (EEBO) in facsimile form.
Access collection
Access to full-text literary and linguistic resources. Includes content from Early English Books Online (EEBO) in transcribed form.
Note that as a student of Early Modern English literature, you will usually be required to study the facsimile (digitised original), rather than a transcription.
Access collectionThe easiest way to search for books held in the library is to use the library catalogue. You can search by author, title or keyword. You can also use the library catalogue to place reservations on books. The literature section can be found on the top floor (Level 3) of Aldrich Library
Databases are specialist tools which you can use to find resources such as journal articles. The two listed below are the databases we recommend you start with, but the full list can also be accessed here.
For help with searching for resources, use the video links below, and see the Search Skills page in this guide.
The referencing style used in Literature is MHRA. Note any English Language modules will use the Harvard Cite Them Right referencing style, and some Literature modules may require you to use the Chicago style. Check with your Module Leader if you are unsure.
Log into the Cite them Right resource below for guidance on referencing and bibliographies in all these styles. If you would like to use an online tool to help you build an online reference list, we recommend using either EndNote or ZoteroBib software.
Watch and record freeview TV and radio. Create clips or make your own playlist using the huge archive of tv and radio shows dating back to the 1970s. Bob also includes a collection of curated playlists made by UK university lecturers on themes such as feminist film philosophy and law race and decolonisation.
Go to Box of Broadcasts (bob)
