Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Brighton logo Accessibility Statement

TESOL: Home

TESOL

All of the resources you need for your subject. For help with literature searching and referencing please contact your Information Adviser team.

OneSearch

Onesearch: Quick search for books, journals and more

Advanced Search

Key Databases

Databases are specialist tools which you can use to find resources such as journal articles. The five listed below are the databases we recommend for all TESOL students, but the full list can also be accessed here.

For help with searching for resources, use the user guide and video links below, and the Search Skills page in this guide.

ERIC

Index to education resources in the USA, with some international references, coverage from 1966 onwards.How to search EBSCOHost databases (video) »

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and language sciences, from 1973 onwards.How to search Proquest databases (video) »

British Education Index

Information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK.How to search EBSCOHost databases (video) »

Scopus

Multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.Scopus user guide »

Web of Science

Large multidisciplinary database with good language and linguistics coverage.How to search Web of Science (video) »

 

Books and Ebooks

The easiest way to search for books held in the library is to use the library catalogue. You can search by author, title or keyword. You can also use the library catalogue to place reservations on books. The majority of books relating to TESOL, education, language and linguistics can be found on the top floor (Level 3) of Falmer Library


The library also has a number of TESOL ebooks which are available on and off campus. Most of these are included in the library catalogue and can also be found in OneSearch. For more information about finding and using ebooks please see our Help with using ebooks page.

Help with using ebooks

Key Journals

The library has a number of journal titles which you can browse individually. We've highlighted some key titles from the collection, but there are many more. To search for a journal by title, please use the Online Journal Finder.

ELT Journal

Access journal online

TESOL Journal

Access journal online
BJC cover

TESOL Quarterly

Access journal online

Referencing

The referencing style used by University of Brighton is Harvard Cite them Right. Log into the Cite them Right website below for guidance on referencing and bibliographies.

If you would like to use an online tool to help you build an online reference list we recommend using either EndNote or ZoteroBib software.

On demand freeview TV & radio

search over 2 million programmes from 75 channels

Box of Broadcasts (BoB)

Watch and record freeview TV and radio. Create clips or make your own playlist using the huge archive of tv and radio shows dating back to the 1970s. BoB also includes a collection of curated playlists made by UK university lecturers on themes such as feminist film, philosophy, law, and race and decolonisation.

Note BoB can only be accessed from within the UK.

Go to Box of Broadcasts (BoB)

Further Resources

The following websites are good sources of freely usable, good quality stock photos that you can use in your academic work.