Accessibility Statement
Access to subscribed journals and ebooks published by Emerald. Subject coverage: business, management, marketing, retailing, economics, education, engineering and library & information science.
Multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Access to: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index (Science and Social Science & Humanities), Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and BIOSIS Citation Index Backfile (1969-2008).
World events, politics, business, science and technology and in-depth special reports on contemporary issues. International coverage.
Searchable collection of full text articles from national, regional and european newspapers.
Case studies outline fictitious or real-life scenarios faced by sectors, industries, companies or people. They facilitate learning about real world organisational problems and how they can be addressed.
The sources listed below are a mix of library subscribed resouces and freely available ones, but case studies can also be found in books, journals, professional magazines, company websites or in other databases we subscribe to. Try using "Case study" as a search term.
Collection of case studies written by international practitioners and academics. Designed to share experiences and expertise from the Tourism Industry, the case studies offer practical, real-life examples.
Using the resources available you will need to make a distinction between academic articles on marketing principles and theories (see Academic Sources tab), trade and professional journals with examples of current marketing practice and sources of market research information. Market research publications will include the following information:
The databases listed below all provide market research.
WGSN is the leading online trend forecasting and analysis service, providing creative and business intelligence for fashion, interiors, design, and the retail industries, via its Fashion and Insight platforms.
Registration required for the downloading of content. Instructions for creating, using and reactivating a WGSN account. By using this site, you are agreeing to comply with WGSN's terms and conditions of use paying particular attention to the fact that this site is to be used for internal educational purposes only and that you are not permitted to post content on 3rd party websites or social media.
Finding company information
Business research can include information on company reports, share price data, directors or shareholders, ownership structures, business statistics, credit ratings, market research and articles in trade journals and newspapers.
There are many websites, databases and other sources which can be used to research businesses based in the UK; the availability of information depends on the legal status of a business and the disclosure requirements. All limited companies in the UK are registered at Companies House and are required to file:
As well as our subscribed sources a company's own website can also be a useful source of information on corporate structures, services, products, contacts, vacancies and links to annual reports and newsletters.
Financial data
Full financial information (current and historic) as well as key activities, stock data (listed companies only) and detailed global ownership information for registered companies in the UK and Ireland with either a turnover or shareholder funds in excess of £1.5m, or profits in excess of £150,000.
Annual Reports
The easiest way to search for books held in the library is to use the library catalogue. You can search by author, title or keyword. You can also use the library catalogue to place reservations on books. For more information about finding and using ebooks please see our Help with using ebooks page.
