Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Brighton logo Accessibility Statement

CRIMINOLOGY: Home

Criminology

All of the resources you need for your subject. For help with literature searching and referencing please contact your Information Adviser team.

Onesearch: Quick search for books, journals and more

Advanced Search

Criminology Databases

Databases are specialist tools which you can use to find resources such as journal articles. The four listed below are the databases we recommend you start with but the library has many more. For help with searching these resources see the Search Skills page in this guide.

Criminal Justice Abstracts

Research index covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology, from 1968.

APA PsycINFO

Index and summaries of peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health, from 1800s onwards.How to search APA Psychinfo (video) »

Web of Science

Large multidisciplinary database with good criminology coverage

Westlaw

Full text database covering legislation, cases, legal journals and selected books; browse by topic for an overview with analysis and links to key related content. Coverage includes US and other international jurisdictions.

All criminology databases Link opens in new window

Handbooks & Key Journals

Key resources in criminology and good place to start looking for literature.

Oxford handbooks Online: Criminology and Criminal Justice

Access handbook online
CCJ cover

Criminology & Criminal Justice

Access journal online
BJC cover

British Journal of Criminology

Access journal online

Referencing

The referencing style used by University of Brighton is Harvard Cite them Right or APA. Log into the Cite them Right resource below for guidance on referencing and bibliographies in both styles. If you would like to use an online tool to help you build an online reference list we recommend using either EndNote or ZoteroBib software.

Books & Ebooks

The easiest way to search for books held in the library is to use the library catalogue. You can search by author, title or keyword. You can also use the library catalogue to place reservations on books. The majority of books relating to criminology can be found on the top floor (Level 3) of Falmer Library


The library also has a number of criminology ebooks which are available on and off campus. Most of these are included in the library catalogue and can also be found in OneSearch. For more information about finding and using ebooks please see our Help with using ebooks page.

Help with using ebooks

On demand freeview TV & radio

search over 2 million programmes from 75 channels

Box of Broadcasts

Watch and record freeview TV and radio. Create clips or make your own playlist using the huge archive of tv and radio shows dating back to the 1970s. Bob also includes a collection of curated playlists made by UK university lecturers on themes such as feminist film philosophy and law race and decolonisation.

Go to Box of Broadcasts (bob)

The following websites are good sources of freely usable, good quality stock photos that you can use in your academic work.