Accessibility Statement
The easiest way to search for books held in the library is to use the library catalogue. You can search by author, title or keyword. You can also use the library catalogue to place reservations on books. The majority of books relating to politics can be found on the entrance-level floor (Level 1) of Aldrich Library
The library also has a number of politics ebooks which are available on and off campus. Most of these are included in the library catalogue and can also be found in OneSearch. For more information about finding and using ebooks please see our Help with using ebooks page.
Databases are specialist tools which you can use to find resources such as journal articles. The four listed below are the databases we recommend you start with, but the full list can also be accessed here.
House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to 2005 with supplementary material back to 1688.
Access to the following: Archive Journal Collections - Arts and Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences and Public Health. Thematic Collections - Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Sustainability. Primary Source Collections - 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, Global Plants.
Access to subscribed journals published by Sage.
Multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Access to and support for wide range of economic and social data including large-scale government surveys, international macrodata, business microdata, qualitative studies and census data.
Registration required.
Provides access to and support for the resources of the population censuses from 1971 to 2011.
Registration required.
The following databases might be helpful for finding primary sources.
Contains over three million pages of fully searchable, rare and unique primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. The archive illuminates the experiences of LGBTQ individuals and groups of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations and geographical locations. There is also significant coverage of feminism and women’s rights campaigns.
Access to one of the most important archives for the study of Social History in the modern era. From the end of the ‘Hungry Thirties’ to the onset of the Second World War, the Blitz and the post-War world of consumerism and television, Mass Observation Online captures the daily lives, hopes and expectations of British society and beyond during the mid-20th century.
Full financial information (current and historic) as well as key activities, stock data (listed companies only) and detailed global ownership information for registered companies in the UK and Ireland with either a turnover or shareholder funds in excess of £1.5m, or profits in excess of £150,000.
The library has a number of journal titles which you can browse individually. We've highlighted some key titles from the collection, but there are many more. To search for a journal by title, please use the Online Journal Finder.
Watch and record freeview TV and radio. Create clips or make your own playlist using the huge archive of tv and radio shows dating back to the 1970s. BoB also includes a collection of curated playlists made by UK university lecturers on themes such as feminist film, philosophy, law, race and decolonisation.
Go to Box of Broadcasts (BoB)
